I am thankful for…

thankfulNovember is not only the month that the guys (for reasons I still don’t quite fully understand) attempt to grow out beards and mustaches… it is also the month of giving thanks- and this year I want to do what I was supposed to do last year… and that is write down one thing I am thankful for each day of this month (or more like a couple for me…)… Some of these things are serious. Some are funny. But for all of them I am very thankful. :) Hope this inspires you to do the same!

November 1st

I’m thankful for Jesus. He is my saviour. My shepherd. My master. My joy. My peace. My best friend… my everything. There aren’t enough words in the English dictionary to describe what Jesus means to me and how thankful I am that He died on the cross for me. That I not only have the chance to know Him here on earth, but through His great love for me and His sacrifice I have the best gift of all (salvation) and the amazing opportunity to spend eternity with Him…. :)

________________________________________________________________________________

 I’m thankful for the freedom I have living in America. It’s something I don’t think about until I hear stories about Christians who are persecuted all around the world. I am thankful that I can be part of the church and body of  Christ without the fear of being arrested or killed.

________________________________________________________________________________

November 2nd

I’m thankful for my church family. Thankful that every Sunday I have a chance to get together with wonderful people to worship my Jesus. Thankful for all the people in my church that I have grown to love so much over this past year. Thankful for the vision of the church to reach the lost. Thankful to God for rising up incredible leaders who helped plant it and give wisdom to lead it. I am beyond blessed to be part of such an amazing family! :)

________________________________________________________________________________

I’m thankful for my pastor. A God-fearing man who genuinely cares about the people that he ministers to. A pastor that is full of wisdom and kindness towards everyone. A pastor whose sermons I never get tired of listening to. :) 

 ________________________________________________________________________________

November 3rd

I’m thankful for large piles of invoices on my desk… they mean 2 words: job security. Thanks to all you awesome people who eat at Taco Bell or Sonic… please make sure to never stop! ;) Seriously though… I love my job, my co-workers, and it’s been nothing but wonderful working here for over two years. And.. accounting isn’t all that terrible either. ;)

________________________________________________________________________________

I’m thankful that I get to work for literally THE best boss in the world. This isn’t due to the fact that he likes to randomly provide us co-workers with gift cards to Starbucks, tickets to Seahawks and Mariners games, the opportunity to a free campout with the whole “crew” every summer… although those things are pretty cool… :) He is a boss that truly cares…and I think I didn’t really realize the extent of his kindness until my little brother got into a jet skiing accident this past summer (at our work campout) which landed him in the hospital for a good week. My boss didn’t even let me come to work for three (yes… paid) days so I could be at the hospital with my brother. He visited every other day and of course always brought goodies for my little brother… that’s just one example of how incredibly amazing my boss is and why I’m so grateful that it is for him that I have the opportunity to work for. :)

________________________________________________________________________________

November 4th

I’m thankful for my sister Luda. Growing up I wanted to be just like her. She was always very self-motivated – she began working from the moment she turned 15, got herself through college, married her high school sweetheart and had it all figured out, at least in my eyes. She is one of those people who just “does it right” in life and over the years I’ve grown to appreciate and respect her for it. I am so thankful that growing up I always had her to go to for advice and encouragement. She’s been much more to me than just my older sister – she’s my best friend, my mentor, and my role model. If there is one person I can’t imagine living life without, it would be her. :)________________________________________________________________________________

I’m thankful each morning when my alarm rings and I realize that God has granted me yet another day… Not every person gets to wake up every morning. And every morning that I do is another day I get to live for God, another chance to do something  purposeful with my life… another day to make a difference. :)

________________________________________________________________________________

November 5th

I’m thankful for GPS, mapquest, google maps, and smart people who have digital maps engraved in their minds that tell me where I need to go. Honestly – I have a rare talent when it cames to driving… I can drive around for an hour in circles looking for a place that should only take me 5 minutes (yes…even with printed google directions). I find ways to magically end up in totally wrong cities even with the help of passengers (which I guess doesn’t really make it my fault then). ;) I can turn a 3 hour road trip into a 5 hour roadtrip…it’s talent I tell ya. Which is why I’m so thankful for smart people who invented the GPS system, which makes it almost impossible (now) for me to use this talent of mine. :( And boy am I thankful for that…

________________________________________________________________________________

I’m also thankful for  drivers that actually know how to drive. You know — the ones that took the driver’s ed test and really passed. The ones who have the common knowledge that in the left lane you are supposed to drive at least 5 miles over the speed limit, not under. That if they are being tailgated it probably means that they are going a little bit slow and no… they do not need to teach the people in the car behind them some patience by going even slower (although… I’ll admit that I do it once in a while). But I really am thankful for good drivers that make driving on the road safe – because that’s not always the case.

________________________________________________________________________________

November 6th

I’m thankful for the thing that I often complain  so often about for the past 16 years of my life - education. In reality – being able to get an education is such an incredible opportunity. I am so happy that I get to study the subject that I love and eventually do what it is that I really want to do (career-wise). At the end… the sleepless nights are all worth it. :)

________________________________________________________________________________

I’m thankful for…chocolate! Does this one even need an explanation? ;)

________________________________________________________________________________

November 7th

I’m thankful for my Bible – well… all 6 of them actually. It really doesn’t matter how many Bibles I have. I’m lucky to just have one. Back in the day people were happy to just have one page out of the Bible, let alone the whole book. I am so grateful that God provided us with His Word which (if we read it like we all should) guides us, strengthens us, encourages us, rebukes us… and teaches us how to truly live a life that brings God glory.

________________________________________________________________________________

I’m thankful for guys that open doors for girls- or maybe I should say  “gentlemen”. It seems that this world is lacking a few of those kind so when a guy randomly does something sweet… it’s a bit refreshing. Chivalry is not gone. (Whew!) But sorry ladies… Prince Charming’s are… don’t get your hopes up too high ;)

________________________________________________________________________________

November 8th

I’m thankful for my “twin sister” – Anna.  We met at a mutual friends 16th birthday party and after discovering that we were both born on the same exact day and had the same names we deemed one another “twin sisters” for life. She’s the friend that I do it all with. The fun and crazy stuff which includes taking spontaneous trips to Canada, sleeping on cardboard boxes in the middle of a park in Seattle (don’t ask), going to awesome concerts together, going skydiving together…. just to name a few. :) We also do the not so fun stuff such as (usually ineffectively) spending many nights studying till 3am together… and then the things that help us in our spiritual walk with God… praying together, encouraging one another…and the most important thing – just being there for one another. Through the good times and the bad. I couldn’t have asked God for a better friend!________________________________________________________________________________

I’m thankful for hard times… It’s something a bit unusual to be thankful for. And honestly whenever I am going through that difficult time I am not too thankful for it at the moment. But God has used so many of the most difficult times in my life to form me in His likeness, to work on me, to help me become a stronger person, to teach me an important lesson… therefore, whenever my life isn’t all “smooth-sailing” like I wish it was I remind myself that at the moment I may be confused, but at the end I will be thankful that I went through it and came out stronger with God’s help. :)

________________________________________________________________________________

November 9th

 I’m thankful for people I look up to and respect . People like Billy Graham and David Wilkerson. People who are truly a godly example to us all. So often many “godly people” including both men and women who are Christian and well-known end up lowering their standards to please the public,  or sinning in ways that are surprising for such godly leaders, and just being very disappointing at the end. I am grateful for those leaders that truly live their lives in a way that honors God and provide the rest of us with a great example to follow.

________________________________________________________________________________

I’m thankful for the mentors I had and  still have in my life. The people who took the time to “invest” into me. To give me guidance when I needed it most. To encourage me in certain areas of my life. To motivate me to do things that I was scared to do. To pray with me and bless me. To give me wise advice. I don’t know where I would be without these people in my life who somewhere along my journey in life chose to take me under their “wing” and be the godly, wise mentor that I needed at the time. :)________________________________________________________________________________

November 10th

I’m thankful for wonderful parents who raised me in a loving Christian environment. Thankful that they are both a godly example for me to look up to. Thankful that from a young age they taught me about Jesus and made sure I went to a good church. Thankful that they took the risk of leaving their homeland behind and moved to a totally foreign land because it would ensure a better future for their children…

________________________________________________________________________________

I’m thankful that I am a child of God. That He created me with a purpose when He formed me in my mother’s womb. That He is beside me each and every single day. That He protects me and meets my needs. That I know no matter what any day will bring, I will always be ok, because my heavenly father is right beside me. :) 

 ________________________________________________________________________________

November 11th

I’m thankful for the veterans who fought for this country and are the reason for America being what it is today. I am also thankful for all people who fight for the rights of others. For Martin Luther King Jr. who fought for civil rights. For leaders who fight for the rights of people who cannot fight for themselves.

________________________________________________________________________________

I’m thankful for God’s unconditional love. That His grace is evident toward me every day. That He gives second chances and never gives up on me even when I fail. I am thankful that Jesus died for me and loved me long before I was born. That His love is not based on what I “deserve” because I wouldn’t deserve an ounce of grace from Him.   ________________________________________________________________________________

 November 12th

I’m thankful that each Friday night I get the privilege of spending time with an amazing group of people at City Hill youth services as we worship God together. Thankful for leaders that have a passion to work with young people and put in a lot of effort into reaching out to them in various ways.

________________________________________________________________________________

I’m thankful for my city bloc (small group) that I get to meet with every single week. That we get to connect with one another and learn from each other as we dig deeper into the word of God as well as eat yummy food and have a good time together. :)

________________________________________________________________________________

 November 13th

                                                                                                          

I’m thankful for my 5 senses. You know, sight, smell, hearing, feeling, speaking… It’s one of those things you don’t think about unless you happen to be missing one. But boy am I happy that I get to see beautiful sunrises every morning and gorgeous sunsets every night. That I get to hear the sounds of birds chirping, smell the fragrance of flowers… Yes, I am very thankful for my senses.

________________________________________________________________________________

I’m thankful that I have a healthy body. That my life is not spend in and out of the hospital due to some disease, disorder, or sickness that I could have. That I am able to walk, talk, see, hear, and feel just fine. That I am not restricted in any way whatsoever. ________________________________________________________________________________

 November 14th 

I’m thankful for the ability I have to connect with God any second, any time, any place during my day through prayer.

________________________________________________________________________________

I’m thankful that God has given me the gift of the Holy Spirit. That I have the Holy Spirit to guide me, lead me, comfort me, to help me pray… and teach me the way I should go. :)________________________________________________________________________________

November 15th 

I’m thankful that I live in the beautiful state of Washington!! That I get to enjoy the beautiful site of Mt. Rainier as I drive to work each morning and that I am surrounded not only by “city life” but also the ocean, trees, rivers, mountains… and much more that is a constant reminded of God’s handiwork in His beautiful creation!

________________________________________________________________________________

I’m thankful for Top Ramen Soup. Seriously. Whoever came up with soup that can be ready in 3 minutes is a total genius. I have personally been an addict since I was 8 years old (thanks to my mom) :) There’s a storage box full of packs of these in the garage… just for me. ;)  

________________________________________________________________________________

November 16th 

I am thankful for my best friend, Julie. - We met 11 years ago at our church’s kids choir. I was 12, she was 10. All we had in common was that our older sisters were best friends, we couldn’t carry a tune if our life depended on it, and we were both very passionate about God. And all of those things still remain true today.. :) I can honestly say that I wouldn’t be the person that I am today if it wasn’t for the fact that she was by my side all of those years. And although we are no longer inseparable as we were “back in the day” I am so happy that she is still one of the most important people in my life! :)

________________________________________________________________________________

I am thankful for music. The first thing I do every morning when I wake up, when I get into my car, log onto my computer at work, come home… is turn on my mixes. Which have been replaced with Pandora – thanks to the awesome person behind that whole idea! No need for mix CD’s anymore! I am especially thankful for uplifting Christian music that encourages, puts me in a positive mood, and many times just gets me through the day. :)

________________________________________________________________________________

November 17th 

I’m thankful for all of the beautiful seasons of the year. That cold winters come with snowflakes and warm memories of holidays celebrated with family and friends. That spring comes with blooming flowers and a new freshness in the air. That summers come with a lot of sunshine and many outdoor adventures. That fall comes with the falling of orange, yellow, red leaves… Each season is special and unique in its own way and I’m so happy that God creatively designed each one for us to enjoy. :)________________________________________________________________________________

I’m thankful for the food that I have on my table each new day. I have never went to bed hungry worrying about what I would eat the following day and I’m thankful to a God that provides and takes care of His children.

________________________________________________________________________________

 November 18th 

I am thankful for books, and the talented authors behind them. Books that take you on adventures you’d never go on in real life. Books that teach you timeless lessons about life. Books that keep you up until 3am because they are too interesting to put down. Beats television anytime. :)   ________________________________________________________________________________

I’m thankful for the roof over my head. That I don’t worry about where I  will be sleeping each night. That I get to share it with a loving family… It’s something I usually never give a second thought to until I see homeless people out on the street. Not everyone is blessed with a safe place to live.    

________________________________________________________________________________

  November 19th

I am thankful for rainy days. Yes, driving in them is no fun.. but lying in your comfy bed at night listening to raindrops on the roof sure is. Grabbing my umbrella and boots and taking a walk around the neighborhood is. Being productive and doing homework because there’s nothing you can do outside is… :) Rainy days rock!

 ________________________________________________________________________________

I am thankful for heated car seats. I know they are a bit of a luxury for most people. They sure are for me!… but there’s nothing better than a nice, hot seat to sit on when it’s freezing cold outside. ________________________________________________________________________________

November 20th

I am thankful for google. If it weren’t for google… well, I don’t know how I would have gotten all the answers to those math questions I just did not understand in my statistics class… ;) and the answers to the psychology questions that made no sense… and the answers to well… about anything and everything in the world. I’m joking. But seriously, can you imagine life without the ability to just go “google something”? I can’t.

 ________________________________________________________________________________

I am so thankful for God’s supernatural peace in my life in the moments when peace is the last thing that I should feel. I get overwhelmed with peace and joy that comes from God alone and I am so grateful that I get to experience His peace and His touch in my life on a regular basis.

________________________________________________________________________________

 November 21st

I am thankful for my best friend Ilana. She is a one-of-a-kind friend, someone I can lean on no matter what. We’ve been through it all together. We met during our “pidrostkova” (aka “teen class”) at church and remained best friends since those good ol’ teenage days. Ilana is one of the sweetest people in the world. The friend I know I can call at 4am in the morning (thankfully… that hasn’t happened yet) ;) The friend that takes the time out of her busy life to make time for catching up with me and being there for me when she can be. :) Those kind of friends don’t come around so easily these days.

 ________________________________________________________________________________

I am thankful for good hair days. They don’t always happen. So when they do… well, I’m just extra thankful. :)

________________________________________________________________________________

 November 22nd

I am thankful for the people of China. Literally. Half of the tags on the bag of my clothes as well as other “things” say “made in China” on them… :) If the people in China would not be making everything I own… well, I don’t know what I’d be left with. ;)

________________________________________________________________________________

I am thankful for podcasts. The ability to listen to sermons from many different pastors, preachers, and speakers whenever I want to. It’s one more resource to use to help myself focus on God every day and build me up spiritually.

 ________________________________________________________________________________

  November 23rd

Some people come into your life and stay for a long time. Other people come just for a season and are gone before you know it. No matter the length of time that person may be in your life one thing is true- they play a role in shaping who you are as a person.  I have to say that many times I feel like one of the luckiest people in the world because God has truly blessed me with amazing friends that I can’t imagine life without. Some friends that I’ve had for a long time, some friends that I’ve only recently met. Friends that may stay forever, friends that may one day go. What will happen with me and my friends in the future I really don’t know- but what I do know is that I’m so grateful to have each and every one of them part of my life not only because they are my friends and I love them but because they’ve played a role in shaping who I am as a person today! :)

________________________________________________________________________________

I am thankful for clothes. The ones I wear every day. The ones stashed somewhere in the back of my closet waiting to be thrown away. My worry each morning is not that I don’t have enough clothes to wear, but rather that I have too much to choose from. And who can complain about that? There are people in the world with no clothes other than the ones left on their back… I am grateful that I have much more than that.

________________________________________________________________________________

  November 24th

I am thankful for transportation. The fact that I don’t have to walk to work, church, or anywhere else for that matter, every single day of my life. Because of transportation I have opportunities to go places I never would have been able to go and do things I would never have been able to do in the past. Transportation also gives missionaries the opportunity to preach the gospel to people who never would have heard about Jesus in any other way. :)

________________________________________________________________________________

I am thankful for facebook. And the fact that I have the opportunity to stalk almost anyone in the world because of it. (I’m only half kidding) ;) Yes, facebook has its positives and negatives… but on the positive side, I’m happy that I have one more tool to connect me to my friends every day and we can share life with one another… (well…at least the people who choose to share their life with others) ;) It provides me with the opportunity to know what Jill ate this morning, how Bob feels about the stimulus package, and when Joey finally gets “in a relationship”.. it ain’t official till it’s facebook official! ;) But seriously, unless you let yourself become an addict.. it’s pretty useful. ________________________________________________________________________________

  November 25th

I am thankful for my grandma (baba Ganya) :) Yes, I was even named after her… along with my other two cousins, but I’m the first one so I guess that makes me special… somehow. ;) My grandma is seriously the sweetest, nicest, and most amazing person in the world. She is always encouraging her grandchildren, praying for them, taking care of them. She constantly reminds me to come visit her and whenever I do spend the night at her place and end up talking to her about all kind of “life stuff” she is full of wisdom and great advice. I’m so happy that I have such a wonderful person to look up to and be encouraged by!

 ________________________________________________________________________________

I am thankful for my awesome siblings. The older ones that I look up to…and steal clothes from occasionally. And the younger ones that now steal my stuff, when I’m not looking. ;) I am happy that for the most part we are all pretty close and that we are there for each other during the good times and the bad.

________________________________________________________________________________

I am thankful for you. Yes YOU, the person reading this post. Because, as a “writer” or “blogger”… or whatever you wish to call me… it’s nice to be writing for people other than myself. So thanks for stopping by… and motivating me to continue on with this blogging “journey” of mine. :)

10 thoughts on “I am thankful for…

  1. What a great idea! I may just try this. During a particularly difficult time in my life I made myself write down at the end of the day at least 5 good things that had happened that day so I wouldn’t lose sight of God’s goodness. Blessings, Natalie

    Like

    • That’s awesome Natalie! I love referring back to this list whenever I am not feeling as grateful as I should. It’s good to be reminded of all of the good things in our life, especially when we are going through a particularly hard season. You should definitely keep the list going!

      Like

      • Thanks, Anna. I’ve replaced my list of 5 with my blog entries that are my way of being grateful to the Lord for His amazing grace and goodness. I may try your month long thing and somehow incorporate in my blog entries for a month. I pray you are having a great day. Blessings, Natalie

        Like

  2. We’re a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community. Your site provided us with valuable info to work on. You’ve done a formidable job and
    our entire community will be thankful to you.

    Like

  3. I am thankful to be alive after brain surgery. I am thankful for….
    2) My son, whom I adopted at age 12
    3) The Saving grace of God
    4) For being birthed into a Christian family in a Free Country
    5) Trees

    Like

  4. Pingback: Living doesn’t mean you’re alive! | H-E-B Slim Down Showdown

  5. My favorite of the list so far is – five senses! Such a big blessing with take foregranted all the time!! (I can tell you study Psychology, lol)

    Like

Leave a Reply

