My Prayer Closet

prayer closetWhen I was a little girl I remember whenever preachers spoke about prayer they always talked about how important it was to have a prayer closet to pray in every day. I took their advice literally. We had a walk-in closet right underneath the stairs in our house where people typically store things into. At the time we had recently moved into the house so the closet was empty and I came up with the great idea to make it my special place for prayer. I put a big comfy blanket with a pillow inside and when nighttime came and I knew most of my family members were asleep I would sneak downstairs into my prayer closet with my bible and flashlight in hand. Knowing I had my prayer closet to disappear to and pour my heart out to God in secret made me look forward to praying on a daily basis. I have to admit that there were times when I would accidently fall asleep and wake up at 3am wondering why I was lying in a closet with my bible on top of me, but nevertheless that prayer closet always brings back such wonderful memories of my time spent with God during my young years.

Although time has passed by and I have long outgrown my “literal” prayer closet, the concept of having a prayer closet has always remained close to my heart. Recently at my church city bloc (small group) we were discussing all of our different “prayer closets” – the places we went to get away from the hustle and bustle of life to spend some time alone with God. The options ranged from our cars to walk-in closets, rooms, parks, and empty parking lots… Where the place is doesn’t really matter. What matters is that we had that place to go away to and that we go there often. A place that is our special meeting place with God – where we look forward to going on a daily basis. The place where we can spend time with the most important person in the world to us.

We all have our “special” spots with people that we like to re-visit often and share many memories at. Where is your special place with God and how often do you go there? Is it a “prayer closet” that is slowly collecting dust as the hours, days, or weeks slip by without your visit? Or is it a place you don’t ever let yourself pass by no matter how busy your life gets? I know from personal experience that life gets busy and times can get tough…but somehow it all seems to get better the more time I spend in my prayer closet, praying –  not sleeping of course. 😉 Whenever I’m feeling high or low there is only one place that I go…

“But you, when you pray, enter into your closet, and when you have shut your door, pray to your Father which is in secret; and your Father which sees in secret shall reward you openly” – Matthew 6:6

photo credit: [psychology today] via pinterest

5 thoughts on “My Prayer Closet

  1. Pingback: One prayer can change everything - amredeemed.com - amredeemed.com

  2. Pingback: Taking time to smell the roses… | A journey of faith…

  3. Angela, my “little blog” huh? Thanks. 😉 and thank you Inna… I loved reading through your blog too- very inspirational! You gotta keep on posting girl 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

