One more candle on my birthday cake

Once every year a special day comes around for each one of us.  It’s the day we get to put another candle on our birthday cake. The candle that signifies one more year of life that we lived. For some reason when that day starts approaching I begin to feel a little nervous…and it’s not because I’m scared I won’t be able to blow out all my candles, but because I know that another year has gone by and I should be a step closer to reaching my goals in life. I don’t think there is anything worst than looking back at the past year and not having accomplished any goals or drew closer to God through the different experiences I went through…

Listening to people who share about their lives when they were young, there is one thing that they always repeat – their best memories from their youth were not hanging out, skipping school, and attending every social event created. Instead, it was the times when they were involved in church activities serving God with their gifts and talents, growing in their relationship with God and others, going on mission trips, etc… They had their fun as well – but that was not their #1 priority during their young years.

Although it’s very important to make God our #1 priority during our youth this goes for anyone at any age, because our lives should ALWAYS be about putting God first and serving Him rather than living only for ourselves (which is definitely the easier thing to do.) At the end what will really matter is not the things we do for ourselves in this world, but what we do for God. It may be too late to re-live the past but it’s never too late to begin where we are at now and choose to live every day to the fullest for God. I know growing up in my teen years I may have missed out on a few things, but what I definitely did not miss out on was always being involved in church and growing in my relationship with God. No one and nothing could ever replace that.

Even though every year when my birthday rolls around I get a bit nervous, it doesn’t last for too long because I know it was another year well spent and I can’t wait for the next time that I get to add another candle to my cake and blow it out… because it will be one more year God’s given me to face tough times…and overcome with Him, to step out of my comfort zone, to build new relationships with people, to draw nearer to Him, and to become the person He wants me to be. What can be better than that?… 🙂

 “Though no one can go back and make a brand new start, anyone can start from now and make a brand new ending.”

One thought on “One more candle on my birthday cake

Leave a Reply

