Words that hurt – Words that heal

WordsSometimes people know exactly the right words to say when you need to hear them.Other times people know exactly the wrong words to say when you least want to hear them.This week I had the chance to experience both.

In both situations the person speaking to me had no clue what was going on in my life so I knew what they said to me was just totally random on their part, but to me it was something significant because it very much related to something that I was dealing with at the moment.

The first words were words of encouragement that left me feeling much better about what I was going through.

The second words were quite the opposite- they left me feeling very hurt and discouraged.

Reflecting back on the words spoken by these two different people helped me learn a valuable lesson: the words that people speak into our lives vary- they may be positive, they may be negative.

They may be helpful, they may be hurtful.

They may be encouraging, they may be discouraging…but no matter what those words may be they are mere words spoken by humans who (unless they have some kind of spiritual revelation) don’t necessarily understand the worth of those words in your eyes.

The only words you can truly depend on and rely on as truth in your life is the Word of God.

It is God’s Word that will always encourage you, guide you in the right direction, minister to you, convict you…

God will always speak the right thing at the right time to you…right when you DO need to hear it.

I’ve learned that it’s good to accept some people’s words. I appreciate the many times people have said things to me exactly when I needed to hear them, but I’ve also learned not to take every word to heart.

You can’t control what other people say to you, but you can control whether you choose to accept their words or not. And you can definitely control what you say to others.

Are the words you speak to others words of encouragement or discouragement?

Are they words that hurt, or are they words that heal?

Are they words that uplift them as they walk with God, or are they words that make them stumble and fall?

We must be careful with what we say to others because we never know what situation people are dealing with in their life and how they will accept those words.

Sometimes your words can make a night and day difference in how they feel about the situation they are in at that time.

And those words can never be taken back.

 “The right word spoken at the right time is as beautiful as gold apples in a silver bowl” -Proverbs 25:11

power of words quotephoto credit: [polyvore] via pinterest

Leave a Reply

