The Bucket List

Life is meant to be enjoyed and lived to its fullest. Sometimes people get so caught up in the mundane routines of life that they forget to go out there and do a few things that may be out of the ordinary or out of their comfort zone. I decided to (finally) create my “bucket list” of things I want to do before I die…  Not everything is exciting or cool – but as of right now these are all the things I want to do/experience at least once in the the time I have left on this earth… no matter how long or short that may be. 🙂

  • Float in the dead sea
  • Be part of (another) flash mob
  • Learn a new language and USE it – Spanish
  • Whitewater raft at the Grand Canyon
  • Bicycle across the Golden Gate Bridge
  • Live without something for one month: internet, chocolate…coffee? 😉
  • Throw a dart into a map and travel to where it lands (unless there happens to be a war going on or that place is Seattle ;))
  • Plant a garden –  this should teach me some discipline… and bring out the “village” girl in me 😉
  • Go on a road trip across the US
  • Cook every dish in one cookbook
  • Be in a jury or part of a court case – inspired when working at the law office… this might be very boring… or very interesting 😉
  • Do some surfing – in Hawaii
  • Run a marathon
  • Stand under a waterfall
  • Create a time capsule and bury it – then dig it up after 5-10 years
  • Take a self defense class – I’m not sure if the “moves” my best friends brothers taught me back in the day are gonna do me any good now… especially since I can’t even remember them 😉
  • Cut my hair and give it to locks of love – one day… when it actually decides to grow out. This might be never.
  • Anonymously mail money to a stranger
  • Write in something that’ll be published: book, journal? not sure…
  • Eat a bowl of mushrooms – I ate a tiny piece last wknd… I might actually be able to accomplish this one 😉
  • Skydive – got the date set 🙂 keeping my fingers crossed for sunny weather!
  • Live somewhere other than WA for one year… or more.
  • Learn how to ballroom dance… with my husband of course.
  • Read “War and Peace” and ” A Tale of Two Cities”
  • Take a mud bath
  • Volunteer for an organization in the community- crisis hotline? – or an elementary school… (really enjoyed doing that).
  • Meet someone famous: Obama?… 😉 
  • Get a masters degree
  • Go to an opera – I’ve been to half of one before… they’re not as boring as they seem 😉
  • Parasail
  • Have a collection of something interesting… just not quite sure what.
  • Be part of a psychological research project oversees
  • Go to a drive-in theater
  • Swim with the dolphins
  • Learn to eat with chopsticks – although nothing will EVER beat the fork..
  • Go horseback riding
  • Go on a cruise
  • Do karaoke- somewhere in public – where no one I know will have a chance of seeing me 😉
  • Donate blood once a year – it’s beneficial and if you drink a gallon of water right before you go (like I do) you won’t feel “weak” at all 😉
  • Finish that scrapbook of my (very LONG) life that I started… 5 years ago.
  • Go to disneyland and ride all the “scary” rides
  • Ride a hot air balloon during sunset or sunrise
  • Fly a helicopter
  • Scuba diving
  • Read a book in Ukrainian – I should probably start with the one my dad wrote… (I’m a terrible daughter for not doing so already :()
  • Sleep under the stars in a field
  • Go rock climbing
  • Visit an underground church in China (if that’s even possible…)

If I will be able to check off any or all of these things I will be REALLY happy… but if I don’t- that’s totally ok too. Because even though life should be enjoyed and lived to its fullest – for the most part all of these things are centered around ME and what I wish to do… the desires and wishes I have for myself in this world… the different things that are for some reason or another exciting or beneficial to me. But this world wasn’t created for the purpose of fulfilling my desires -therefore even if I don’t do any of the cool things I wish to do… my life will not be less worthwhile.

I’ll be just fine if I never go sky-diving, don’t ride an air balloon, don’t travel across the seas, or never finish that scrapbook that I started… because all those things in the spiritual realm -mean absolutely nothing. I can die today and be just fine without having checked off any of the things on my list.

But there ARE things to do on this earth that will make a difference for not only you spiritually, but also for the others around you. Things that you should try to “check off” before your time is up in this world… For me these things mean either doing something that will help me grow spiritually so that I can then help others or things that in general will be beneficial to the body of Christ – rather than just myself. These things that are much more important than all the fun things I want to do…

My “spiritual bucket list” is still in the process of being created, edited, and fulfilled… but these are the things I want to “check off” sometime in the future… 🙂 I know there’s MUCH more to add to this list… but here’s the beginning:

  • Witness to someone who has never heard about Jesus and bring them to church
  • Read through the Bible fully (again) in one year… yes, even good ol’ Leviticus and Deuteronomy 🙂
  • Visit the Holy Land
  • Walk where Jesus walked while He carried His cross
  • Be a mentor to someone AND be mentored by someone
  • Go on a mission trip to a foreign country and work with the children there- Africa, India…?
  • Sponsor an orphan child
  • Memorize at least 5 chapters from the bible – other than Psalms.
  • Volunteer at my church and use my “gifts and talents” for God.
  • (One day) Help raise God-fearing children…

As I was thinking about my bucket list I stumbled upon an interesting blog with 50 things every believer should do before heaven… Hopefully you get the chance to read it and think about your own bucket list and what it is that YOU want to do with this gift of life that God’s given you. May you truly live it to the fullest. Be blessed!!

3 thoughts on “The Bucket List

  1. Pingback: Taking time to smell the roses… | A journey of faith…

  2. Yeah…. learning to eat with chopsticks takes patience — and (sadly) I don’t possess too much of that, especially when a fork is conveniently lying nearby 😉

    Like

  3. I love your list, especially your spiritual bucket list! The one that says, “anonymously mail money to a stranger” is cool…you’ll be a blessing to someone!

    You haven’t eaten with chopsticks though? The tricky part is eating with the rice!

    Like

Leave a Reply

