Back to being a bookworm

It’s time to say good-bye… good-bye to bonfires that keep you up late into the night as friends gather around to chit chat about life. Good-bye to camping under the stars — a time of experiencing nothing but God’s beautiful hand-crafted nature with family and friends. Good-bye to days of sunshine spent out on the lake or at the park.  Good- bye to vacation’s…

These days will soon be replaced with night’s of hearing raindrops on your roof, crunchy leaves on the ground, pumpkin spice latte’s, and apple pie’s… Boots, scarves, and jackets will be replacing flip flops, sundresses, shorts, and swimwear…

Yellow school buses begin filling the streets at approximately 7am & 3pm… and finally the end comes. The end of the sunshine… and the end of the busy schedules and days full of events to attend and things to do. It’s the end to the busyness and with those sunny days of summer lingering behind life begins to gradually slow down.

I personally love summer and I enjoy every second of sunshine that comes my way (rarely as it does) here in Seattle. I love camping, parks, church events, days of adventure, road trips, and hanging out with friends — but for me summer is no vacation… I can honestly say that when I was looking at the calendar on my wall in the beginning of August, I was already mentally counting down the days until September. I don’t miss leaves, jackets, or boots. And although I love the rain… I don’t even miss the rain.

What I do miss is more free time to myself. I miss my agenda having empty time slots open for doing…whatever it is that my heart desires at the moment. This is a change that I will welcome with open arms. Looking at my calendar now, September isn’t quite as “free” as it could be. I’m still trying to fit in a few last minute trips and events before the sunny days dissappear, nevertheless I can say that I am starting to feel that fall is around the corner. I’ve even had the opportunity to remember a term that I have long forgotten in the past three months: relaxation. In case some of you have also forgotten that term, I sure hope you get to experience it sometimes soon. It’s pretty awesome. 🙂

And for me… dark, cold, fall and winter days mean I have a chance to do something that I did not get to do nearly as much as I wish I did over the summer: READ.

Last week I went to the local library to pick up a few things I had on hold and I came to the realization that I probably go there a bit too often, since the librarian knew me by name and was even kind enough to get rid of my overdue items fee because I’m such a loyal reader (yes – I like to financially support the library any opportunity I get;)) If you have read my previous post about reading books you might understand why it’s no surprise that any librarian working in the local library in my city would know me – the library was my second home growing up. I think I deserve some type of certificate for being the girl who checked out the most books and went through her summer reading list a little too quickly (I had a life – I promise ;)).

Even so, I am excited to be a bookworm once again. I have had way too many books on my “wish list” waiting to be ordered, so I finally took the time to order some of them last week. And the best thing about ordering books online is waiting for them to get delivered to your home… I’ve been coming home the last couple days with packages waiting to be opened by me. They’re like early Christmas presents. 🙂

A while ago I decided to actually sit down and write down all of the books that I have on my bookshelf, just to have a record for myself of all the books I read. Me and a few girls from my church always update one another of the different books we read that we enjoyed… so I decided it was time to create an extensive list of books that I have  read to recommend to people. I’m sure it doesn’t include  all of the books I have ever read since my bookshelf has only been a few years in the making… but here they are:

Book List:

  • The Dream Giver – Bruce Wilkinson
  • The Prayer of Jabez- Bruce Wilkinson
  • Set Apart : Discovering Personal Victory through Holiness – Bruce Wilkinson
  • Secrets of the Vine – Bruce Wilkinson
  • Just like Jesus – Max Lucado
  • Divine Mentor: Growing Your Faith as you Sit at the Feet of the Savior – Wayne Cordeiro
  • Leading on Empty: Refilling your Tank and Renewing your Passion – Wayne Cordeiro
  • Confessions of a Reformission Reverend- Mark Driscoll
  • Crazy Love – Francis Chan
  • Fasting – Jentezen Franklin
  • The New Eve – Robert Lewis
  • A Lady in Waiting – Jackie Kendall
  • Mere Christianity – CS Lewis
  • The Great Divorce – CS Lewis
  • The Screwtape Letters – CS Lewis
  • The Purpose Driven Life – Rick Warren
  • So, You Want to be Like Christ? – Charles Swindoll
  • The Life You’ve Always Wanted – John Ortberg
  • Knowing God – J.I. Packer
  • Desiring God – John Piper
  • The God Chasers – Tommy Tenney
  • Paul: A Man of Grace and Grit – Charles Swindoll
  • David: A Man of Passion and Destiny – Charles Swindoll
  • Joseph: A Man of Forgiveness and Integrity – Charles Swindoll
  • Esther: A Woman of Strength and Dignity – Charles Swindoll
  • Moses: A Man of Selfless Dedication – Charles Swindoll
  • Battlefield of the Mind- Joyce Meyer
  • I Dare You – Joyce Meyer
  • Lioness Arising – Lisa Bevere
  • 7 Habits of Highly Effective People – Stephen Covey
  • Middle School Ministry Made Simple – Kurt Johnston
  • The 5 Love Language, Singles Edition – Gary Chapman
  • Men are like Waffles, Women are like Spaghetti – Bill & Pam Farrel
  • Every Young Woman’s Battle – Shannon Ethridge
  • Just as I Am – Billy Graham
  • Developing the Leader Within You – John Maxwell
  • Beauty by the Book – Nancy Stafford
  • Compelled to Share His Love – PG Vargis
  • Tortured for Christ – Richard Wurmbrand
  • Revolution in World Missions – K.P. Yohannan
  • The Birth Order Book – Kevin Leman
  • Walking with God – John Eldredge
  • Authentic Beauty – Leslie Ludy
  • Experiencing Spiritual Breakthrough – Bruce Wilkinson
  • A Life God Rewards – Bruce Wilkinson
  • Falling in Love with Jesus – Dee Brestin & Kathy Troccoli
  • What Every Christian Ought to Know – Adrian Rogers
  • He Chose the Nails – Max Lucado
  • It’s Not About Me – Max Lucado
  • Attitude 101: What Every Leader Needs to Know – John Maxwell
  • Waking the Dead: The Glory of a Heart Fully Alive – John Eldredge
  • Learn the Bible in 24 Hours – Chuck Missler
  • Twelve Extraordinary Women – John Macarthur
  • Mark of the Lion Series – Francine Rivers
  • Redeeming Love- Francine Rivers
  • And the Shofar Blew – Francine Rivers
  • Diary of a Teenage Girl Series – Melody Carlson
  • The Chronicles of Narnia – Melody Carlson
  • When Heaven Weeps & Thunder of Heaven – Ted Dekker
  • Blessed Child & A Man Called Blessed – Ted Dekker
  • The Martyrs Song – Ted Dekker

On the way:

  • Forgotten God – Francis Chan
  • The Supernatural Ways of Royalty – Kris Vallotton
  • Life Without Limits – Nick Vujicic
  • When God Doesn’t Make Sense – John Dobson
  • What Now: Making Sense of Who You Are and Where You’re Going – Marc Estes
  • Don’t Waste Your Life – John Piper
  • Cost of Discipleship – Dietrich Bonhoeffer
  • One Thing: Boldly Pursuing all that Matters – Dwayne Roberts

On my “wish list””

  • Think: The Life of the Mind and the Love of God – John Piper
  • Doctrines: What Christian’s Should Believe – Mark Driscoll
  • Vintage Jesus – Mark Driscoll
  • Jesus: The Greatest Life of All – Charles Swindoll
  • Outlive Your Life – Max Lucado
  • The Fear of the Lord – John Bevere
  • The Four Loves – CS Lewis
  • Make Today Count – John Maxwell
  • The Difference Maker – John Maxwell
  • Slave: The Hidden Truth About Your Identity in Christ – John Macarthur
  • Right Thinking in a World Gone Wrong – John Macarthur
  • Alone with God – John Macarthur
  • The Me I want to Be: Becoming God’s Best Version of You – John Ortberg
  • When the Game is Over , It all goes Back in the Box – John Ortberg
  • Rising Above: Living a Life of Excellence No Matter what Life Throws at You – Wayne Cordeiro

If there are any bookworms out there (like me) with good books to recommend, please feel free to give me names of books you’ve enjoyed. I’ll take personal reccomendations over amazon any day. 😉 Be blessed!

photo credit: [lush budget production] via pinterest

4 thoughts on “Back to being a bookworm

  1. Pingback: Taking time to smell the roses… | A journey of faith…

  2. I HAD to read a post that has bookworm in the title… And then laughed out loud reading the part about the librarian knowing your name… I’m a children’s librarian! I actually make it a point to remember kids names because I think it’s important and means a lit to them! 🙂 And I, too, think Amazon packages arriving stre like Christmas! If I recommended books, you’d get quie the list, but if you really do, let me know some of what you’re interested in. And you can search the ‘books’ tag on my blog for anything I’ve posted about books I’ve read! Going to have to read more of your posts 🙂

    Like

    • Oh wow. That’s so awesome that you’re a librarian! You for sure would have known me if it was the library you work at that was my second home ;). I like Christian books in general — similar to the ones I have listed. I will definitely search through your blog for book ideas. 🙂 Thank you!

      Like

      • Yep, my reading swings one of two ways for the most part: kid lit or Christian non-fiction. Not a typical combo, maybe, but works for me 🙂 Off the top of my head, you might like Mark Batterson. But definitely ask if there are any you want more info/opinions on! If you read the Driscoll books on your wish list, I’d be curious about them… I read the Resurgence blog, and he’s one I’ve wanted to read… just not sure which one to start!

        Like

Leave a Reply

