Would you wash Judas’s feet?

For years… he walked with you, he talked with you, he laughed with you, he shared meals with you, he was one of your closest companions, part of your inner circle of friends. He lived life with you… yet it was by his scheming and through his plans that you were betrayed forever…with one single kiss.

And the night before the betrayal, knowing what this man was about to do you see Jesus on his knees…washing Judas’s feet.

Wow.

Last night I was at a meeting with a group of ladies and a church counselor I get together every other week with to discuss psychological topics and we ended the night answering one of the most difficult question that I honestly have not given too much thought about before.

Would you wash Judas’s feet?

The person in your life that stood by your side one day and then betrayed you the next. The person who is nice to you in public but speaks lies about you behind your back. The person who day in and day out is on a mission to do whatever it takes to make your life miserable.

They are your personal Judas.

Would you wash their feet? Jesus did.

Can you look in their eyes and show them kindness? Can you be the “bigger” person and don’t return evil with evil? Can you love them as if they have never caused you pain?

That’s what Jesus chose to do. Knowing he would be betrayed. Knowing it was because of this man’s evil deeds he would soon be hanging on a cross. He chose to remain silent…and wash his feet.

I don’t feel like I have any “enemies” in my life. There hasn’t been anyone that betrayed me. There hasn’t been anyone that has hurt me too seriously. But I do remember there were two people in my past that were not the “nicest” to me. One of them was mean to me on purpose, the other one was not. I cried some nights because of them but I decided to overlook the hurtful things they would say or do. I prayed for them every day… and you know what? One of them left my life completely. And the other person I learned to respect in a way I never thought I could and I know it’s only because I chose to take the high road… and pray for this person when that was the last thing I wanted to do.

If you have a Judas in your life pray for them, care for them, try to not take to heart whatever it is that they did or still do to hurt you. It may be the hardest thing you will ever have to do. But it’s the right thing, because that’s what Jesus did.

Take the high road.

Love your enemies.

Pray for the people that hurt you.

Be like Jesus.

Wash your Judas’s feet.

“But I tell you: Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you” Matthew 5:44

5 thoughts on “Would you wash Judas’s feet?

    • I agree with you. You can go so much deeper into what this means for us as followers of Christ and the level of humbleness we should have especially because of this example that Jesus left for us. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

