The power for life and death…

They have the power to bring death. They have the power to bring life. (Proverbs 18:21)

They have the power to hurt. They have the power to heal. (Proverbs 12:18)

They can be used to build someone up. They can be used to break someone down. (Ephesians 4:29)

They can stir up anger. They can turn away wrath. (Proverbs 15:1)

They can get you into trouble. They can ruin your entire life. (Proverbs 21:23) (Proverbs 13:3)

One day you and I will give an account for absolutely every single one of them. (Matthew 12:36)

What are they?

Words.

Often time we speak them carelessly. Often times we don’t take the time to realize the impact that they can make. The person that might be hurt by them.

Often time we don’t take time to say the words that someone needs to hear. Words of encouragement. Words of healing. Words of hope.

My hope is that I will seek God always when it comes to the words that come out of my mouth because I know one day I’ll give Him an account for every single one of them.

I want to know when to keep my mouth shut and remain silent.

I want to know when to open my mouth and speak the words that someone needs to hear at that very moment.

I want to use my words wisely.

Today… take the time to stop and think about your words.

Do they bring healing or do they bring hurt?

Do they bring hope or do they bring discouragement?

Do they lift someone up or do they bring someone down?

Never underestimate the power of the words that you speak.

Use them wisely.

Today, I pray the same thing that David did in Psalms 29:14Lord, Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight.

Be blessed and be a blessing with your words today! Anna… 

[Image creator unknown. Please respond if you know the author so credit can be given.]

2 thoughts on “The power for life and death…

Leave a Reply

