You can have joy even when you’re not happy…

You can have a real smile on your face even when you want to cry.

You can have peace in the midst of the trials you are facing.

You can rejoice when you are dealing with heartache and pain.

You can find joy even when you have no reason to be happy.

How?

It’s quite simple.

Happiness depends on what is happening in your life.

Everything in your life is in place as it should be? All of your plans are working out? All of your dreams are coming true? You will undeniably be happy.

But joy is a little different.

It’s different because joy doesn’t depend on the circumstances of your life, it depends on one person alone: Jesus.

And when you have an intimate relationship with Jesus it doesn’t matter what is happening in your life. What is out of place. What is not working out. Which dreams are not coming true. You will have joy because you have Jesus.

You will have joy because you understand that your temporary situation is nothing compared to what God is preparing for you in heaven for eternity.

You know that there may be pain in the night, but joy will come in the morning.

You know that you have a glorious future to look forward to.

You know that what you’re going through will not last forever.

Whether you feel happy or not depends on what’s happening on the outside of you.

Whether you feel joy or not depends on what’s going on inside of you.

I don’t know about you… but I want to be joyful more than I want to be happy.

I want to be able to smile not only during good times but also during hard times.

I want to have peace when I feel like my world is falling apart.

And the only way I will have that joy that extends beyond the place I find myself in today is not by winning the lottery, reading the best “self-help” books, or having everything start working out perfectly for me.

I will find joy when I find Jesus.

It seems like we are all in the pursuit of happiness. Of getting to that place where we enjoy life and our place in this world.

My challenge to myself? To stop pursuing happiness and start pursuing Jesus.

Because when I pursue Jesus I’ll find joy.

Joy that doesn’t fade with the circumstances of life.

Joy that lasts forever.

“Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, Rejoice.” – Philippians 4:4

Today… remember that the true joy you are searching for will never be found in your situation in life… it can only be found in Jesus. Anna… 

true joy is found in Jesusphoto credit: [the hills are livin] via pinterest

Leave a Reply

