Chase after God…not after the wind.

I don’t care if my name will never be written on the front of a DVD, CD, magazine, or book cover

I want it to be written in the greatest place of all: God’s Book of Life.

I don’t care if I never walk down the red carpet with famous celebrities by my side.

I just want to walk on the streets of gold in Heaven with angels by my side.

I don’t care if I never get the privilege of meeting the President of America.

I just want to have the privilege of meeting Jesus face to face.

I don’t care what people will say about me after I die.

I just want God to be able to say “Well done, good and faithful servant” at the end of my life.

What do you care about today?

Often times I think we get caught up in chasing after the wind as Solomon says in Ecclesiastes (1:14). We care about things that are meaningless in the spiritual realm. They may bring us earthly profit. But at the end, they will have absolutely no worth to God in heaven.

It doesn’t matter how much money you have in the bank today. What matters is how many people you chose to serve with your finances, with your time, and with your energy.

It doesn’t matter whether or not you become popular and known all over the world. What matters is whether or not you live your life to make Jesus popular and well-known around the world.

It doesn’t matter what people will write on your grave after you die. What matters is what God will write in the Book of Life.

I find myself at this place sometimes.

Chasing after the wind.

After meaningless things that will bring me worldly gain, but bring God no heavenly gain.

Things that will bless me, but not bless anyone else around me.

Things that will make me look good in the eyes of others, but things that won’t look good in the eyes of God.

It’s easy to get caught up in worldly thinking. But we must remember, this is not our home. We are just travelers passing through. Our purpose is not to live a nice little life that will make us happy here on earth. Our purpose is to live a meaningful life that will make God happy in heaven.

Our goal is not to chase after the wind… but to purposefully live out our days chasing after God and allowing Him to show us what it means to make a difference with our lives… not just here on earth, but more so for His glorious kingdom in Heaven.

Today, let’s not worry about satisfying ourselves and getting what we want. Let’s focus on pleasing God and making sure He gets what He desires with our life.

Be blessed! Anna… 

[Image creator unknown. Please respond if you know the author so credit can be given.]

7 thoughts on “Chase after God…not after the wind.

  1. Pingback: Riches, relationships, or fame? | A journey of faith…

  2. Hi Anna, thank you for the post (and for following Clothed With Thunder). Thank you, also, for the reminder; all too often I just want to focus on riding the next horse, getting to the next show and winning the next ribbon. But I could have all the ribbons in the world and not one scrap of God’s approval.
    This is something I’m wondering about right now. I adore horses and have an ambition to compete in A-grade showjumping – not really for the fame or the accolades, but for the enjoyment of working with some of God’s most amazing animals. Do you think it is possible to use a competitive sport to God’s glory? And if so… how?

    Like

    • Good morning! That’s a really great question. I think you can glorify God with anything you do in life as long as you do it for His glory, not your own. In Colossians 3: 17 & 23 it talks about doing everything as if we’re doing it for Christ (whether it’s what we do or say) even if we’re really doing it for someone else. I think in the same way you can definitely bring God glory by riding horses.

      I think because you participate in a sport/activity that many other people may never be part of you have the opportunity to be in contact with people that we will never meet and in some way or another you can show them the love of Christ by your interactions with them and therefore be the light in a place others cannot be.

      Also, when it comes to competitive sports I think of Tim Tebow and other well-known athletes who find a way to bring back their talent and physical abilities in their sport back to giving glory to God for giving them those talents and opportunities to use in the world. You can do that as well. Glorify God for you talents (even in front of people) and by doing so you are playing a role in sharing the gospel. 🙂

      Like

    • Thanks Sharrita. 🙂 I love writing about the things God puts on my heart… even if they are challenging to me (and to other readers). I don’t ever want to “water-down” the gospel but present the truth as I see it. I will check your blog out too! Thanks for stopping by. Be blessed!

      Like

Leave a Reply

