Hopeless with no way out

circumstanceHe was supposed to be a great man.

He was supposed to be a well-known man, respected and revered by others.

He should have been surrounded and enjoying life with his large, loving family.

He was supposed to be fulfilling his dream.

He was supposed to rise up as a leader.

He was supposed to be a lot of things.

Yet he found himself in a prison cell.

Abandoned, forgotten, alone. For something he didn’t even do.

He could have lost hope and given up on his dreams.

He could have doubted God’s divine plan for his life.

He could have become angry at God.

He could have questioned the purpose of his existence.

He could have done a lot of things that I would have done if I found myself in his place.

But he didn’t.

Instead he chose to hold on to faith.

In the midst of his seemingly hopeless circumstances he chose to trust God.

The environment around him was screaming for him to give up, to quit, to let go.

Yet he held on to hope.

He held on to God.

He didn’t give up under pressure.

He didn’t let his momentary situation determine his standing with God.

He chose to look for the light at the end of the tunnel… although at that moment there was no light to be seen.

He just kept on believing.

This is why Joseph amazes me. Why he challenges me. Why he makes me question my own faith in God.

Many times we find ourselves in a similar place in life. Our prison cell may not be seen physically. But it’s there.

We feel stuck in a situation with no hope of change.

We feel abandoned by our loved ones.

We feel forgotten by God.

Our hope for the future has long been drowned out by voices of despair.

And we are on the verge of giving up.

Losing heart.

Letting go.

But like in Joseph’s situation two things remain true. 1) God is with you in your current situation just like he was with Joseph in that prison cell and 2) it’s up to you to decide what you do during this dark place in your life.

Sometimes I wonder… if Joseph had lost faith and began doubting God, would his situation have changed? Would his story have a different ending? I don’t know.

What I DO know is that living in despair, doubt, and hopelessness is no way to live.

No matter how dark the place you find yourself may be.

No matter how many closed doors are in front of you.

No matter how many people have failed you.

There is no such thing as being hopeless when you are in God’s hands.

There is no such thing as “no way out”.

The word “impossible” does not exist for God. To you it may be impossible. To you there may be no way out. But not to God.

Maybe you find yourself in that place now. Maybe you’ll find yourself in this place in the future (although I pray you do not). But it happens to even the best of us.

Times get tough and we feel trapped by circumstances. I challenge you and I challenge myself to be like Joseph.

To hold on to hope.

To hold on to God’s promises.

To overpower voices of doubt with God’s Word.

To have faith in God because God has already prepared a way out for you.

If you want to have a happy ending like Joseph;s, trust God just like he did, and that happy ending will also be yours!

Be blessed! Anna… 

“But as for me, I will always have hope;
I will praise you more and more”- Psalm 71:14

trust God, God will take care of you, Joseph trusting GodRelated posts:

dead endhold ongive upImage creator unknown. Please respond if you know the author so credit can be given.

17 thoughts on “Hopeless with no way out

  1. It seems we either allow the prisons in this life to bring us closer to the Lord through utter reliance on Him or we allow ourselves to move further away from Him. The single most powerful aspect in my eyes is that never once do you hear Joseph question Gods soveriegnty or goodness. I cannot say that I have never looked skywards and asked “I don’t get this ! ….do you really know what you are doing?….hand me the route map instead”. Joseph walks the narrowest path, the one that Jesus spoke of in Matthew 7:13-14 and yet he does not question the Lord once.

    The prison actually seems a paradox. Prison is partly about restriction of freedom. Yet in Gods sovereign plan, the prison is the vehicle used to accomplish a higher work and a deeper freedom. Freedom from “self” and our own plans. Freedom from bitterness. He could have allowed un-forgiveness to grow but he chose not to go down that path. In addition, the Bible is clear that God was with him in His suffering. God never left him. Brokenness and the in-working of humility in our hearts is painful. The prison was not easy and neither was surrendering to the process of being broken. But ultimately God was still at work and, in the fullness of time, Joseph was transitioned to a strategic role where he would be called on to see the longer term view in order to save the nations and the remnant of Israel. He is the remnant within the remnant. Deep down his utter and unshakeable belief was that God had this same longer term, strategic view over his own life. It is this higher view that Paul exhorts us to take in Romans 8:28 in order to for us to be steadfast and assured that all things work together for good and are fitting into a plan that He is sovereign over.

    Jesus is seeking a Bride who will be like His Son in all His fullness. I cannot think that this will come at no cost to us, as some preach these days. In a sense, Joseph being raised up in the natural realm is not the issue. It is the deeper supernatural works accomplished in the unseen realms of his heart that is key. Most notable amongst these being the deep work of forgiveness. It is the process that is central. It is the stripping away of “self”. The submission. Joseph points us to Jesus in so many ways…….and now my fingers ache !

    Like

    • “Prison is partly about restriction of freedom. Yet in Gods sovereign plan, the prison is the vehicle used to accomplish a higher work and a deeper freedom.” Wow. This is so good! What we think is meant to hold us back and keep us chained up instead of fulfilling God’s purpose for our lives is the very thing that will bring us true everlasting peace and freedom that is only found in Christ alone as well as play a significant role is preparing us for what God calls us to do.

      I feel like surrendering to the process of being broken is something God is teaching me to do daily. It is only when we are completely broken and surrendered to Him that He can use us as a vessel of honor for His divine purposes. Until then we often try to serve Him by own efforts and means, and sometimes for our own glory over His.

      Joseph really does point to Jesus, especially when it comes to forgiving those who don’t deserve it and surrendering to God’s plan and will. Sometimes I wish I could sit down and talk to these great men of faith and see what was going through their mind when they went through such difficult circumstances. I’m sure the enemy sent Joseph just as many thoughts as he would send any of us to discourage him and keep him from trusting God, but Joseph kept on believing and that’s such an encouraging testimony for me. If he could hold on to God’s promises and to His truth about Him and His life in that dark dungeon for so many years, surely so can I during the dark times of my life.

      Like

  2. Pingback: God Will Calm Your Storm – Rest in the Power of His Grace – Bible Inspiration « Darrell Creswell

  3. What an excellent post. My other favorite is David – anointed as a young man, hunted like a dog for fourteen years, and finally instated as king of Israel.

    I draw much encouragement from Joseph, though. Life certainly looked hopeless, and yet he remained faithful. Amazing.

    \o/

    Like

    • Yes, I love those characters from the Bible that continue to trust and follow God in the midst of all kinds of hardships and suffering that they must face. They may have died a long time ago but their lives of faith continue to influence me today!

      Like

    • Yes, you should always choose hope and faith! Some circumstances we can change in this life, some we can’t. I can’t tell you whether or not you can change your circumstances but I can most definitely say that God can either change your circumstance or change how you face them every single day with Him.

      May you continue to face them with hope every day! Be blessed Denise!

      Like

  4. Anna, I enjoy reading what the Lord places in your heart so that it might flow from your fingers. When I read your posts, I feel as if I’m looking in a mirror — so to speak — because of your visual writing style. Thank you for serving as a refreshing reminder of the need to always be clear in shared thoughts. God bless you, my unmet friend.

    Martin

    Like

    • Thank you Martin! I’m so glad that you received the reminder that you needed (I know I need many of those!) and your blog is such a blessing to me!

      I’m thankful that there are so many people out there who take the time to write about what God places on their hearts because I learn so much from their experiences and their lives.

      May He continue using you as a blessing to so many through your writing!

      Like

    • Seriously. Joseph is one of those characters from the Bible that truly amazes me! I hope I will always be able to see the good God intends in the midst of the pain and hardships that come my way!

      Like

Leave a Reply

