What I wish I knew before I started blogging

blogging tipsIf you are anything like me then when you first created your blog site you realized that you were entering into a brand new world that you didn’t know existed.

A world full of widgets, tags, stats, and many other things you never heard of. It can be a little overwhelming at first.

When I began my blog all I wanted to do was write (which technically IS what I do) but unless your blog site is just a site for your eyes only (like a diary) then you actually do want others to read what’s on your mind. And although I am no expert by far there have been a few helpful things I learned in my two in a half years of blogging that have been helpful to a newbie who really didn’t know what she was doing.

Here are a few things I wish I knew before I began blogging that might be helpful to you:

Create your “About Me” page-  This may not seem like a big deal at first but people who come to your blog site and read a few of your posts usually want to know what the author is all about and there is nothing more disappointing than finding a blank “About Me” page.

Unless you truly are invisible we would like to know a little about you. What you like. What you do. Why you write. Anything that helps us put a face behind the words that we read. If you write anonymously you don’t have to share all the details about yourself but we still want you to share something that will help us connect with you as a person.

Tagging your posts- if you want other bloggers to find posts on a subject they are interested in you must remember to tag your posts effectively.

Whether you are sharing a quote, a personal story, or something you heard about on the news make sure to tag a few of the key words that the post is about.

But remember that if you want your tags to show up on the reader’s feed make sure to never have more than ten tags otherwise it won’t show up. Other than that, tag away and you’ll give other readers an opportunity to connect with you on similar interests.

Connect with other bloggers – For the first year in a half of blogging I wrote for myself. Literally. I was happy if I had three people check my site out in one day because honestly I wasn’t really big on “sharing” my posts on any social media sites and I didn’t start tagging my posts until after that year. But eventually I decided that I didn’t want to write for myself only and I started to connect with other bloggers who wrote about similar things I wrote about and I absolutely loved it!

The easiest way to do this is to create topics on your reader tab that you are interested in and then go through them once in a while. Read posts that people write, comment on them, and keep on coming back for more.

For me personally, I like to check out blog posts on topics I have recently written about to see what others have to say on the subject. Some of the best blogs I have found by spending ten or so minutes a day reading blogs on topics I’m into. And once you start connecting with other bloggers, they will start connecting with you.

Share your blog on social media sites – People won’t know that your blog exists unless you put it “out there” for them to see. I’m not honestly the best at this because after (almost three years) of blogging there are still people in my life who have no idea I blog because I have posted maybe ten (out of almost 200) blog posts on facebook.

But honestly, if you want people to read your stuff, you need to tell them where to go. I did create a twitter because I know many bloggers use it to share their thoughts and blog posts (sometimes I forget I even have one, but I’m still working on that one) 😉

I also add a few of my posts on my pinterest page or on my tumblr page. Someday I’ll make it to facebook but that’s still a work in progress. 😉

Regardless of where you choose to share what you write, unless you want to be your only reader don’t be scared to share whatever it is that’s been on your mind lately. You’ll never know who might be able to connect with you or find what you write helpful unless you put it out there for them to read.

Also, don’t forget to give readers the opportunity to share your posts by enabling sharing options for them (on your sharing settings in dashboard).

Quality over quantity – It doesn’t matter if you write five posts a day if what you write is repetitive or not something readers can connect with or be interested in.

Quality is always better than quantity. It’s better to write one good, thought-provoking, helpful post in three days, then write one each day that you put together only because you “had to” to make sure you had one post for that day.

Take your time in writing your posts and make sure they are your best work, not just your rough draft.

Make your blog posts readable– Just a few quick tips: unless you are writing a research paper don’t make your blog post longer than 1500 words (if that). Most readers opt for reading shorter blog posts over long one’s so if you have a lot to say on a subject it might be better to either shorten it or divide it into a few parts so that it’ll be easier to read.

Make sure to proofread your posts for errors. This isn’t a paper for school but it IS online and it should be your best work so before you post it make sure to check for grammar errors.

Make sure to leave spaces between paragraphs because it’s hard to read one super long never-ending paragraph.

Add a picture to your postimages are always a good idea to portray what you are  writing about in a post. It’s always best to use your own images but if you are not a photographer (like me) there are sites out there where you can use other people’s photos. It’s just a quick, easy way to enhance your post for the more “visual” readers.

Your blog is your space. Add things that are both interesting to you and helpful to your readers.- I have a few pages that I added of things I like such as books I recommend for others to read, posts for people to check out, my personal bucket list to check off, and quotes I like.

Whatever is interesting or helpful to you add it to your site, you never know who may find it useful!

These are just a few of the things that I have learned about blogging in my last few years. If you want to read more quick tips on blogging you can find them here.

If there is anything you have learned about blogging so far that you think would be helpful feel free to share them below. I would love to see what’s been helping you with your blogging journey!

Be blessed and don’t forget to keep on writing! Anna… 

Related posts:

girl writingwrite myselfwhy do you writeImage creator unknown. Please respond if you know the author so credit can be given.

 

31 thoughts on “What I wish I knew before I started blogging

  1. On the note of sharing with social media sites, one thing I love about WordPress is the publicize option. I can automatically send to all or select social media sites for sharing and even edit was that post will say on my Facebook, etc.

    This was a helpful post! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Where to find free pictures for your blog | Artsy Wanderer

  3. Pingback: It’ll Never Work | Niall Thomas

  4. Blogging is hard work and you have to be very passionate in order to succeed. So make sure you are writing about something you love, or you won’t have the drive to succeed. Also, you will not start out being a great blogger, so just aim to get better every day. And lastly, be patient. Blogging is a hard thing to master and you’re not going to build a massive following overnight.

    Be passionate, be consistent, then be patient.

    Love the list!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: “Quick Tips for Writing A Successful Blog” | Authors Helping Authors Resource Site

  6. Pingback: Blogging Tips for Work at Home Mom | Make Money From HomeMake Money From Home

  7. I’ll tell you how to share on Facebook if you tell me how to post on Pinterest! I have a page there, but am clueless as to what to do with it! 😉
    \o/

    (Facebook is a snap. My blog is linked to it. Every time I post on WordPress, it is automatically posted on Facebook. I don’t spend time on FB…you’re not looking at much of a time commitment beyond setting up your page and connecting with friends. I have 148 people on FB who receive Lessons by Heart!)

    Like

    • It’s really easy to post on pinterest! If you have the share button (like I do above) you can choose the “pinterest” tab and it will let you choose what board you want to post it on. 🙂

      What’s your link to facebook? I tried to find it under “lessons by heart” but I couldn’t. 😦 That’s next on my list to get started, but I want to add all my past posts up so it might take some time. I’d love to find you on there though! 🙂

      Like

      • It’s hard to remember:
        Tami Benson
        😉

        I don’t have one for LBH yet. I’ve got my hands full here!

        To automatically post to your facebook account, from your wordpress dashboard, select “Settings” and then select “Sharing.” From there, just follow the prompts to link wordpress to facebook. It’s very simple (even I could do it!). After that, every time you publish in wordpress, it will automatically post on facebook. Nothing fancy to do – it does it for you. Nice!

        Thanks. I’ll see if I can post something to Pinterest. I have a page there…naked as a jaybird! It would be nice to put something on it. 😉

        Like

        • Ah, I see. I thought it was under your blog name, not your name 😉 I’ll need to set mine up soon too. It sounds nice and easy!! Thanks for letting me know how it works!

          And you should definitely use start using that Pinterest board of yours 😉 it’s almost as easy as facebook. Good luck with that!

          Like

Leave a Reply

