“I have nothing going for me”

hard, lifeLife is hard, I know.

But I want to remind you today that there is someone out there who has it worst than you.

Someone who would switch places with you in a heartbeat.

Someone who would be more than happy to walk in your shoes.

So often we get discouraged about what’s going on in our lives.

About the things that are not working out.

About the things that we don’t have.

And we forget to be grateful for the things that are good in our life.

The things we have that someone would only dream of having.

Did you wake up this morning?

Be happy. Even if you started it off on the wrong side of the bed. Not everyone had the opportunity for a brand new day.

Do you have a paycheck that you receive in the mail?

Be grateful. Even if that paycheck comes from working at a job you don’t absolutely love. Not everyone gets money to pay their bills at the end of the month.

Do you have clothes on your back?

Thank God for them. Even if they aren’t the latest style and don’t come from a brand name. Not everyone can afford having a new outfit to wear every day.

Do you have parents that provide for you?

Tell them you love them today. Even if they drive you crazy and don’t seem to understand you. There are millions of orphans out there who would love to have someone to call “mommy” and “daddy” .

Do you have a church family you are part of?

Embrace them and pray for them. Even if you don’t agree with the style of worship, the way a ministry is led, or what the pastors or leaders say. There are thousands of Christians in different countries around the world being persecuted for their faith who would do anything to be able to come together with brothers and sisters in Christ to share their faith.

I don’t want to undermine the difficulties you are facing in your life today.

I don’t want to say that they don’t matter because they do.

But I just want you to remember that in the midst of hardships, you have at least one thing to be grateful for today.

You have at least one thing to thank God for.

You have at least one thing that someone else doesn’t have out there.

So take some time to count your blessings.

Even when your life isn’t perfect.

Even when people hurt you.

Even when things don’t fall into place.

God’s Word says we must thank Him in all circumstances.

That means in the good times and in the bad times.

When we have it all or when we have nothing at all.

When we are high up in the clouds full of joy, or when we are down in the dumps full of grief.

You have a reason to thank God for today.

Even if that reason is just that your heart is beating right now.

Don’t waste a second of your time complaining about the things you don’t have while taking for granted the things that you do.

And don’t wait until Thanksgiving comes around to think of all your blessings.

Thank God for them today.

Have a good day and stay thankful! Anna… 

Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.”  1 Thessalonians 5:18

thank GodRelated posts:

thankfuli-am-thankful-for4but-someone-else-didImage creator unknown. Please respond if you know the author so credit can be given.

32 thoughts on ““I have nothing going for me”

  1. Although I’m very well aware that many others have life MUCH worse than I do… that doesn’t comfort me at all. I am in so much pain right now and reading things like this makes me feel incredibly guilty for even complaining about my own pain in my own head. No offense, of course… it’s just me. I can only express my pain on my blog… I don’t allow myself to do so anywhere else, because of the truth I know that you have written about in this post.

    Like

    • I understand. I think feeling “guilty” to some extent is the point. Sometimes we get so consumed in our own pain and emotions that we forget that we are not the only one’s suffering, and although it doesn’t make our situation any better at least it puts things into perspective and reminds us that we might have more going for us than some people in this world so we should at least find some things to be grateful for in the midst of our hard situation. 🙂

      Like

      • That’s why I find it depressing… because, if I have THIS much pain… and I know I have it ‘better’ than most of the world… then that just proves to me HOW HORRIBLE this world really is… which makes me want to live in it even less…

        Like

  2. Such great thoughts. You’re an encouragement and an inspiring girl, dear. Keep writing and thinking and doing what you can to impact the world for good. Leave it better than how you found it 😉

    Like

  3. at the end of the day, i’m definitely a “if i have breath in my lungs” kinda gal..and only hardship has made me that way. the benefit of having to praise my way out of a pit, daily, is that i learned to praise God, daily! i learned to depend on Him to put both feet on the ground without the enemy winning…to walk now while i have the light, lest the darkness overtake me. so long as i breathe, i will bless His name! sure, i’ve known some dark, dark days..but b/c of it, i’ve known a God who’s with me, even in the darkness. i love Him 🙂

    Like

    • Amen! No night is too dark when we have God right next to us! I’m so glad you have been able to love Him and depend on Him through it all. Once we make Him our foundation in life we may be shaken but with His help we won’t break or fall. 🙂 Be blessed!

      Like

  4. Thank you for visiting my blog today and “liked” some of my posts 🙂 I see that we both love the Lord and are grateful for what He has done in our lives. We both love to encourage others through our posts. Glad to meet you my sister in Christ! Blessings, Mary

    Like

    • Glad to meet you too Mary! I found you through Tami’s blog and couldn’t help but roam around through your posts (which are very insightful and encouraging) for a little while. I loved reading your story about how you met your husband! 🙂 I look forward to reading your future posts. Be blessed!

      Like

      • Makes my heart smile to have another new blogging friend…your posts are encouraging and insightful as well…that is why I am following them! Have a great night 🙂 Mary

        Like

  5. This post is great! Really, perfect before going to bed. A couple of months ago I actually made a video about feeling the gratitude. You may like it!

    Will be following + thanks for stopping by on my blog:)

    Like

    • Thanks for sharing the video Jimmy! It’s very similar to the idea of this post. 🙂 Love the idea of creating a “gratitude list”. It’s something we would all benefit from doing!

      Like

    • That’s awesome Debbie! I have my “Pity Party” days as well and all it takes is a little perspective of the world around me and the people dealing with much greater hardships than I am to remind me of how blessed I am no matter what circumstance I find myself in. I’m glad this post was helpful. Hope you have a lovely pity-party-less week.;) Be blessed!

      Like

    • Thanks Marlene! It’s one of those posts I never planned on posting but when I came across this picture I just couldn’t help it. I’m glad it was timely for you just like it was for me. 🙂 Enjoy your Friday!

      Like

Leave a Reply

