You are beautiful {just the way you are}

barbie girlHate is a strong word but I hated this girl growing up.

I couldn’t stand who she was and what she represented.

I hated the fact that she was the reason behind so many young girls starting dieting at age 8.

Spending hours shopping at the mall.

Staring in that mirror every morning and looking for new things wrong with them to fix.

Things that aren’t “accepted” by society as the norm.

Like having the perfect body.  The greatest hair. Flawless skin.

From the day we are little girls media is already telling us how we need to look and what we need to wear to fit in.

And don’t forget the picture perfect life that comes along with it.

The hunky man by your side. The fancy pink car. The big house. The friends that are just as plastic and perfect as you are.

We need to have it all.

The glitter, the glitz, the glory that comes with it.

But today if you are a young  girl I want to remind you who barbie is.

She’s a plastic doll.

There is nothing real or ideal about her.

Same goes for all the photoshopped celebrities on the pages of the magazine covers.

It took hours of people working on them to make them look the way they do.

Hours of fixing blemishes and body shapes on a computer screen to get them to be just the right shape and size.

And for some, hours of plastic surgery.

So why is it that we still buy into the lie that it’s all real?

That they are our standard?

Fake people and plastic dolls, that’s all they are.

I’m a girl and I understand the desire to be beautiful.

To want to be accepted just the way I am.

And I have my own set of insecurities.

I have days where I hate my frizzy hair.

When I wish I could actually gain an extra pound.

When even make-up can’t fix the blemishes on my face or the circles under my eyes.

And I wonder why I couldn’t be just as pretty as the girl on the magazine cover, or even the pretty girl I see walking past me at the mall.

And it’s on those days that I remind myself of what I want to remind you of today: You are beautiful.

Whether you are a size zero or a size five.

Whether you have ten new outfits in your closet or just one.

Whether you have a zit on your face or nothing at all.

Whether your hair is frizzy, curly, straight, short, or long.

If you are a young girl today get off that scale.

Put down that makeup brush.

Throw away your beauty magazines.

Turn off that reality tv show.

Look at that girl in the mirror and remind yourself that you are absolutely beautiful, just the way you are.

You don’t need to let society define you and tell you what you need to become.

What the norms are.

You ARE the norm.

You are one of a kind.

A beautiful masterpiece created by the hands of God.

Don’t waste another minute looking for something to fix.

You are worth more than all the gold in the world – flaws and all.

Learn a lesson wise from the former Mrs. America

“Weight loss could change my body, but it couldn’t change my life. Make up could cover up my blemishes but it couldn’t cover up my insecurities. Clothes could make me feel cool but they couldn’t make me content. Attention could make me feel popular but it could not give me purpose. Boys could make me feel pretty but they couldn’t take away my pain.” – Sherri Rose Shepherd

And being the closest thing next to barbie won’t take away your insecurities or fix your problems.

So today… remember: you have no reason to be insecure.

Nothing to cover up.

Nothing to hide.

Break the bondage of trying to be like Barbie, a  Victoria Secret Model. or a tv star.

And remember that in the end… even if you had the perfect hair, flawless skin, and the greatest body of all it won’t matter if you are not happy with who you are on the inside.

Outward beauty is only skin deep.

It’s what’s inside that really counts.

That makes you who you are.

And as long as you have Jesus inside your heart, He’ll help you be that beautiful person that you already are.

Don’t look for your worth in a mirror but find it in Christ  and you’ll have Him to remind you daily of how precious you are. Be blessed! -Anna… 

I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well. – Psalm 139:14

true beautyRelated Posts:

label1beautifulletter to mephoto credit: [kalie garrett] via vi.sualize

17 thoughts on “You are beautiful {just the way you are}

        • This made me laugh out loud!! I work with mostly men and they explained it to me like this. Insecure men will look for a woman to make them look better to people around them. So, they will bypass internal beauty for external beauty (not that you can’t have both). Men are attracted to what they see, but a good man will keep looking to see what’s in the heart. It’s sad as women we are judged by things we don’t always have control over, but that’s the world we live in. daughters adn hopefully in the future we won’t have plastic images through

          Like

          • The last line should read hopefully mother’s and fathers can teach their kids the true meaning of beauty. Hopefully in the future it will change. Thanks for the post Anna. You rock!

            Like

          • It is sad that outside appears matters so much in this world. A lot of people unfortunately get overlooked or feel insecure because our culture places such a high value on it 😦 It would be the perfect day if things were swapped around and people would find character much more important than beauty. It’s up to us to play a role in teaching young girls to find their worth in Christ in their young years before the media teaches them to find it in other things.

            Thanks for stopping by Erin. Your comments are always so encouraging and give me something to think about 🙂 Be blessed!

            Like

  1. Pingback: Hey, you’re awesome! | Ellen Nguyen

  2. Wonderful post. I felt the same way. Barbie represents unrealistic expectations on women in society. All of the Barbie’s are the same just painted In different colored masks.

    Like

    • She really does. And not just her, but all of the celebrities out there. We all know that their image isn’t real yet we still look at them as if they are. 😦 It’s so important for mothers (and anyone really) to teach their daughters about what it means to really be beautiful so that they don’t allow society and magazine covers to teach them instead.

      Like

  3. Such truth! Why is it so hard to truly grasp this? And this is not just a young woman’s problem–we ‘old’ ladies still struggle with the desire to be beautiful, and the unrealistic standards of what the culture says beauty is. Keep preaching it, sister–we need to hear it again and again and again until it sticks!

    Like

    • It really is hard at times (sadly). And it’s definitely a struggle that can continue into adulthood, especially if girls don’t confront their desire to be beautiful based on societies standards when they are young. But the more we talk about it hopefully the more girls understand how beautiful they are without needing to uphold those unrealistic standards.

      Like

Leave a Reply

