“I Will Trust God Anyway”

when you are disappointedSometimes life is just not fair.

Bad things happen to good people.

Unexpected tragedies take place.

Dreams are destroyed.

Loved one’s walk away.

Or that one thing you’ve been waiting for never comes.

And we find ourselves standing at a crossroad with two roads in front of us that we can choose to travel.

One road is disappointment and despair.

The other road is healing and hope.

Each one of us has the power to choose which one we will take.

When darkness closes in.

When people walk out.

When dreams are shattered.

When all hope seems lost.

Just yesterday I felt like something I longed for was taken away.

Something I’ve been praying for.

Something I’ve been setting my hopes up for.

And more than anything all I wanted to do was hide myself from the world and cry.

I wanted to throw my hands up to the sky and ask God “why”.

Why I felt so disappointed and heartbroken and at loss.

Why things never seem to “work out” for me.

Why He had seemed to forgotten me once again.

I wanted to throw myself a big pity party where I would feast on discouragement.

Listen to the lies of the enemy that God didn’t care.

And waste hours filling my mind with reasons of why life just wasn’t fair.

But as I sat there well on my way to the road of disappointment and despair God stopped me in my tracks and reminded me of Job.

The one who lost every single thing that had meaning to him not in one year, one month, or one week, but in one day.

The one who walked in righteousness before God but still had his blessings taken away.

The one who had every reason to be angry at God, to question why life was unfair, to throw His fists up to heaven in anger and despair.

And yet at the end of it all this is what he said Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked I will depart The Lord gave and the Lord has taken away; may the name of the Lord be praised.” (Job 1:20)

Wow.

And yet when one thing goes wrong in my life I think my world will soon be over.

I begin questioning God’s sovereignty and goodness in my life.

I start making a list of complaints of everything that’s not going right to show God.

And as I sat there yesterday thinking about Job’s response and my own I felt so ashamed.

Ashamed that all it took was losing one thing to make me go down that road of despair.

One thing to bring me low and make me feel so discouraged.

When in comparison, Job lost everything and his response was nothing close to mine.

He lost it all and yet he didn’t curse God.

Sure, he didn’t pretend to understand why bad things were happening.

Sure, he had questions.

But He never doubted that God had a divine plan behind it all.

And he trusted that even when life was not fair God was still in control.

And more than anything in the world I want to be more like Job.

When heartache comes and when things are taken away I want to travel the road of healing and hope instead of disappointment and despair.

I want to be able to stand strong on my foundation in Christ and proclaim that He’s good no matter what.

No matter what dreams will forever remain unfulfilled.

No matter what relationship ends or friend walks away.

No matter what door never opens or opportunity never comes.

No matter what storm comes, what tragedy strikes, or what thing breaks my heart.

I resolve to be like Job.

To stand strong when the ground beneath me is a little bit shaky.

To trust God’s promises and plan even when they seem impossible and out of reach.

To hold on to hope even during the darkest moments of my life.

I will be like Job and say “Blessed be the name of the Lord when He gives and when He takes away”.

When I have it all going for me or when I have nothing at all going for me.

When my dreams are being fulfilled or when they are being shattered.

When my heart is filled with joy or when it’s filled with pain.

I will stand firm in faith and I will keep believing that God is good, that He is faithful, that He has a glorious purpose and plan even when life doesn’t seem fair.

“The ultimate test of faith is not how loudly you praise God in happy times but how deeply you trust him in dark times.” -Rick Warren

Today, if you are facing a hardship or a loss use it as an opportunity to run to God.

Use it as an opportunity to show God that just like Job your faith isn’t based on your circumstances but in your belief in an Almighty Father that loves you mightily.

Use it as an opportunity to not question God and to not give up but to travel the road of hope with Him.

Choose to praise God just as much when you are in middle of a storm as when you do when you are in a good place with Him.

Worship Him when He blesses you with heavenly gifts and keep on worshipping Him even when He takes them away.

And in the end you’ll see that His purpose and plan for you is good… even if at the moment it makes no sense and it seems unfair.

Be blessed and walk strong in faith!- Anna…♥

disappointed in God, disappointments are always opportunities to know and trust God in a deeper way, disappointment quoteRelated Posts:

falls-apartreal-love-is-no-fairy-tale3hard-lifeImage creator unknown. Please respond if you know the author so credit can be given.

29 thoughts on ““I Will Trust God Anyway”

  1. Loved this! It is hard to trust God in the midst of life’s pain and turmoil, but the healing we see and feel after the trial has passed makes it worth it! Thanks for sharing this! Blessings, Crystal

    Like

  2. “When nothing else in life makes sense, God is good all the time.
    When our pain seems too great to bear, God is good all the time.
    When our world is spinning out of control, God is good all the time.
    We know that God causes all things to work together for the good to those who love God,
    to those who are called according to his purpose.
    All the time, God is good”.

    (Bible verse quote – Romans 8:28)

    Like

  3. Awww Anna!! A good one indeed! Isn’t this the truth? It usually takes just one thing to derail the happy train into a ditch of discouragement. Great encouragement; and how I pray that God will minister to your disappointment and provide for you in any and ALL ways you have trusted Him.

    ((HUGS))

    Marlene

    Like

  4. To know and understand that we have a choice, is a powerful epiphany. Choosing to trust Him, in any season, can be challenging for me but ultimately I think it is one of the strongest weapons we have (along with His Word) to defend ourselves and break the chains of a deceptive enemy. Great post, thank you for sharing.

    Like

    • Hi Tara, yes it is! Sometimes we feel powerless in our circumstances but the truth is we have the power to do something that will make a night and day difference between how we come out of that situation: the power to choose our attitude and response and to trust God through it all. It is certainly one of our strongest weapons against the lies of the enemy. Thanks for stopping by. Be blessed!

      Like

  5. AMEN!!! I love, love, love the way you write. It always goes right into my heart. I’ve been having some really hard things going on and have been feeling a little discouraged. Your post lifted my soul and with Job I will say “The Lord gives and the Lord takes away. Blessed be the name of the Lord.” Awesome post!

    Like

    • Thanks Moriah. I’m sorry to hear that you’ve been feeling discouraged lately but I will pray that God will keep on lifting you up and that you’ll continue rejoicing and finding your hope in Him even during the dark times. Be blessed sister!

      Like

      • Thanks so much for your prayers! God continually gives me strength, hope and joy even though I don’t deserve a thing. I feel so thankful for His forgiveness and how He’s always there when no one else is. God is AWESOME!

        Like

Leave a Reply

