Taking off our masks

masks4As Christians we always face the temptation to pretend.

To pretend we are doing just fine when we are suffering and hurting deep inside.

To pretend we have it all figured out in life.

To pretend we have no insecurities and no need for support from the outside.

Before we go to church, Bible study, or any other place we make sure to carefully put on our mask that hides all of our imperfections, all of our weaknesses, and all of our pain.

We hide behind a big smile and pretend everything is okay when we know it’s not.

But what would happen if instead of wearing our masks we chose to put them down?

If instead of hiding behind a smile we could be transparent enough with someone to show them our tears?

If instead of pretending life was perfect we’d be vulnerable enough to be real?

Here is my story on Tirzah Magazine on what happened when I put my own mask down and the freedom and joy that came with it.

I hope that as hard as it is, it will encourage you to be the same.

Keep on walking strong with Christ and have a lovely day. Be blessed! Anna… ♥

Blog Post Link: The Christian Masquerade

9 thoughts on “Taking off our masks

  1. This was a wonderful post, and so encourage, particularly, I’m sure, for the young people you disciple. Too often we wear the mask of, “Everything is Perfect,” never allowing others a glimpse of the real, imperfect human inside. How else can we allow ourselves to receive the love, compassion and grace God has to offer through others if the door to our heart remains closed?

    You are so, right, Anna. This is a journey that will not end until we see Him face to face. So glad to meet another sister along the way.

    Like

    • Thank you Susan! “How else can we allow ourselves to receive the love, compassion and grace God has to offer through others if the door to our heart remains closed? ” This is so true! We first have to open up in order to receive the love and the support we need.

      I hope that in a world where it’s becoming more and more uncommon to be “real” every day that people will learn to be authentic and vulnerable with issues in their life that they usually like to keep hidden in the dark. Thanks for stopping by. I always love meeting a new sister in Christ. 🙂 Be blessed!

      Like

  2. Wow!

    Thanks for sharing!! 🙂 I feel like I just read a portion of my journal… As the Lord has been telling me recently… It is ok to be real with people… No need to hide all that is going on and bottling it up on the inside and at times get bitter.

    Do you mind if I share this on my blog?

    Hanz

    Like

    • Hi Hanz, I’m glad I’m not the only one who’s been learning to be more real with others. There is so much freedom in opening up to people about what you’re going through and it gives them a chance to open up in return. 🙂 You can definitely share it on your blog too. Be blessed!

      Like

  3. Just to let my readers know. I’m having a hard time with a health issue right now and now I can post nothing on my blog nor can I get any help from WordPress with whatever the problem is. So please pray for me that these issues will be resolved soon. Blessings to all, Natalie 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

