When hard times come

hope, trust JesusSometimes life is like the weather: unpredictable.

You wake up expecting sunshine but what you get is rain.

You expect the healing to come… but the illness rages on.

You expect the job offer… and instead get the rejection call.

You expect the relationship to work out… but instead you get a good-bye

You expect a baby… but all you get is one more test that failed.

And just like that your faith starts to falter and you start wondering if there is a reason to hope at all.

To hope for different results, to pray for sun when all you see is clouds, and to believe that your miracle will come.

I don’t know how many moments like these I’ve had in my life.

I feel rejected by people, stuck in my circumstance, and forgotten by God.

It is during these moments when the skies darken and the rain pours down the hardest that the enemy comes closes and tries to sway me with his lies.

He tells me that the rainbow is a myth and that sunnier days won’t come.

That God had abandoned me and I was left to make it on my own.

That there was no Promised Land ahead and the desert was where I would always belong.

There’s a battle in my heart and in my mind with what I know is true and what I have happening right in front of my eyes.

I turn to Jesus one last time praying for a shred of hope, a beacon of light, and a sign of His faithfulness and love.

And as I read the pages of His Word my eyes start to focus back on Him, my mind finds peace, and my heart starts to feel hope once again.

Hope is such a wonderful thing.

It is believing that despite the circumstances, despite the pain, and despite the hardships you are facing everything will turn out for the best.

Hope is what dries tears, helps people get back up after one failure after another, and keeps us moving forward and living with purpose each day.

Having hope doesn’t mean that you are blind to the circumstances you are in.

It doesn’t mean you are immune to the pain you feel.

It doesn’t mean you are unaffected by your past.

It just means that you believe in the God of Abraham who fulfilled His promise to give him a son despite his old age.

It means that you believe in the God of Peter who calmed the raging storm despite his fear.

It means that you believe in the God of Job who restored his loss and brought him peace.

It means that you believe in the God of Daniel who closed the mouths of lions and kept him out of harm’s way.

It means that you believe in the God of Hagar who saw her alone in the desert and made sure she was taken care of and safe.

It means that you believe in the God of Jesus who conquered the enemy on the cross and death from an empty grave.

It means that when you look at your empty checking account you see hope in the God who provides.

When you look at your broken heart you see hope in the God who heals and restores.

When you look at your rejection letter you see hope in the God who opens doors to even the most impossible dreams.

And when you look at your past you see hope in the God who is the maker or new beginning’s.

See… I can never be hopeless for too long.

Yes, sometimes my nights are filled with tears.

Sometimes I worry and sometimes I think about my fears.

But then I stop and look at the rain outside and remember that unlike the weather, God is very predictable.

I don’t know if I’ll be walking through a valley or a mountain tomorrow, but I know that He will be there.

I don’t know if I’ll get the answer to my prayer today, tomorrow, or never but I know that He’ll do what’s best.

I don’t know if that job opportunity, that healing, and that sunshine will come soon but I know that whatever happens or doesn’t happen I will always be okay, because I’ll be with Him.

So I choose to believe…

To believe for rainbows that will lead to sunshine.

For doors to open and new beginnings to start.

And for prayers that will be answered in time.

I’m not blind to reality or naïve to what is logically right, I just choose to see life through God’s faithfulness to His children in the past and believe the same for me.

I choose to trust.

Today… remember that  as long as you have Jesus you have hope.

You have a reason to reject the enemies lies.

You have a reason to keep getting back up.

When life hits you hard turn to Him and you will see that He is much bigger than your circumstance.

And eventually just like the night gives way to a brand new day so will the rain give way to your long-hoped for sunshine.

Be blessed always! – Anna

“Having hope in God means no one else finishes the story but Him, and everything really will be okay. We do not need to fear optimism. Life will still hurt and there is darkness ahead — but we have a Healer, a Counselor, a King, a Father, a Friend. We can get our hopes up: all the way up to Him”.-J.S. Park

Related Posts:

when-life-is-too-hard-to-handle-life-hardshipskeep-holding-on-girl-beach-black-and-whitefalls-apartphoto credit: [nikaa] via flickr

20 thoughts on “When hard times come

  1. Another great post Anna…..
    What really spoke to me was when you spoke about God being predictable. There are a lot of things that happen to yes that don’t make sense but God is predictable! He is such a big God who does amazing things, who does big things, who amazes us everyday but one thing we can depend on is His predictability. Thanks again and God bless you!
    Rolain

    Like

    • Thank you Rolain! I love the fact that God is very predictable (at least His goodness and purpose for you is even when the actual plan for your life and future isn’t). The world can be in chaos around us but we know that no matter what happens we can always depend on Him. What a wonderful promise and truth to hold onto during tough times. 🙂 Hope you have a great weekend!

      Like

  2. “I’m not blind to reality or naïve to what is logically right, I just choose to see life through God’s faithfulness to His children in the past and believe the same for me.
    I choose to trust.”

    Amen, well said!

    Like

    • Thank you Mel! Choosing to trust isn’t always easy but when you see God’s faithfulness in the lives of the people that came before you and your own past it becomes possible. Have a blessed weekend!

      Like

  3. Love you Anna! God bless your heart. I love your posts!

    Thank you God for Anna. Continue to pour out your message through her. She is blessed. ❤️

    I needed this. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What a delicious piece – and despite you lovely words – that quote at the bottom caught me. I have never seen this expressed just this way “We do not need to fear optimism”. Quite beautiful. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

