A love that goes a long way

appreciate others, tell people you love them,One of the saddest things in this world is that we wait to tell people how much they mean to us until it’s already too late.

When we are standing at their graveside, not when we are sitting across from them face to face.

What do those words of love mean to them when they can no longer hear?

What purpose does it serve to express your gratitude toward them when they are already in their grave?

I’ve heard so many sayings about “appreciating people while you still have them” but the truth is that even though we all know our time on earth is limited, we still seldom do.

Last week my mom was set to have surgery on her brain on Thursday so on Monday night we gathered our family and our relatives together to pray for God’s protection for her life and that the surgery would go well.

Before we all got on our knees to pray my dad asked all of us children to say something to our mom.

A blessing of some sort, words of encouragement, and what we would be praying about.

And one by one we all took turns sharing what was on our heart.

Telling her that we loved her.

That we appreciated her hard work for us during the day and her endless prayers during the night.

That without her life just would not be the same.

It was such a sweet moment.

One filled with sentimental words and flowing tears.

And as I sat there just listening to those words of love pour out I couldn’t help but think “why don’t we do this much more often?”

Why must we wait for Christmas, for a birthday, or worst, for a funeral to tell someone that we love them when we can tell them today?

Won’t it matter so much more to them when they can hear your words and feel your hug?

We are always so quick to point out people’s wrongdoings and faults, but wouldn’t it be so much better if we were even quicker to point out the times when they did something right?

God calls us to love one another not yesterday, and not tomorrow… but today.

So why not show some love? It’s good for the heart and soul, not just for the person you are showing gratitude toward but also for yourself.

Why not take the time to tell your friend that you appreciate them being there for you through thick and thin?

Why not take the time to tell your parents that you don’t take for granted their hard work and the fact that because of them you have food on the table and a roof over your head?

Why not take the time to tell your pastor, your mentor, or Bible study leader that you appreciate their faithfulness to reaching out to you and blessing you in your walk of faith?

Your words of love may seem insignificant but they can go a long way.

A long way in encouraging a weary mother or father to keep on giving everything they have.

A long way in encouraging your friend to continue to stay by your side and know that they are loved.

A long way in encouraging your pastor or leader to keep on serving selflessly in any way that they can.

I know that words of love have went a long way with me whether it came from a friend who sent me a card to say they appreciated me, a blog reader who wrote to tell me that the words God put on my heart blessed them, or a teen who said that the times I spent with them really mattered to them.

It’s those words that pushed to keep on writing when the enemy told me my words don’t matter and no one reads what I have to say.

It’s those words that kept me going when the enemy told me I was wasting my time and efforts on preparing Bible studies to lead and lessons to teach for teens who weren’t going to listen anyway.

It’s those words that kept me going when the enemy told me that no one really cared about me at the end of the day.

Yes, in the end it is God that is the One who encourages us through His Word, and who gives our lives worth and meaning, and who proved His unconditional love on the cross for us but this race of faith is hard and it doesn’t hurt to have someone cheering you on once in a while.

It doesn’t hurt to have someone say “Hey what you’re doing is good, keep on staying faithful, and keep on playing your part.”

It doesn’t hurt to have someone say “Hey, I appreciate your hours of cooking in the kitchen, your hours of praying on your bedroom floor, your hours of listening to me spill my heart out, and your hours of time investing into my life.”

We could all be reminded that we are not being taken for granted so why don’t we be the ones to start by saying “I love you” and “thank you” to someone today?

I love and wholeheartedly agree with what John Pavlovitz said in one of his recent blog posts:

“I think we should give people living eulogies; that we should speak lavish, unashamed words of love and praise, not about them, but to them. Speak all the words of love, to those you love. Say everything, while they can still hear.”

So why not start telling people they matter why they can still hear?

You don’t need to do anything too extravagant.

Say a few words.

Send a card.

Bring some flowers.

Honor those you love with your blessings, gratitude, and heartfelt prayers.

Don’t wait until it’s too late.

I’m glad we didn’t with my mom last week and I hope you won’t with the people in your life that matter to you today.

This week I challenge you to take time to show some love to someone you care about. You never know when tomorrow could be too late. Also, I really appreciate every one of you who took the time to pray for my mom last week. Her surgery went a lot better than we all expected (thanks to God and your prayers!) and she is slowly recovering at home now. 🙂 Thank you! Have a blessed night! -Anna… ♥

“Love one another with brotherly affection. Outdo one another in showing honor.” –Romans 12:10

22 thoughts on “A love that goes a long way

  1. Hey bebe! I’m sorry to hear about your mom, but I’m happy whatever was detected was detected on time and she’s going in for it. You have no idea how true that saying is, I got so scared when my mom was told the same sometime last month. But my prayers had to be steadfast. There were crippling fears and doubts, but I really learned to appreciate her more, even on my stubborn days. Family is so important!!

    I hope mama feels better now. Great insights for sure

    Coco L’Amour

    XX

    Like

    • Hi Mary! Family is important and it’s never easy to go through hardships but God sustains us and gives us the courage to walk through each one faithfully as we trust Him to hear our prayers and work on our behalf. My mom is doing much better and recovering well! I hope yours is doing good also, I will pray for her to stay strong and for you to keep on praying and not lose faith. Be blessed!

      Like

  2. Great insights here and good news about your mom. I pray she’s better than ever now. 🙂
    My wife’s dad did something like this when he was dying, except he asked to see each of his ten children separately so that he could tell each one how much he uniquely loved them. It was one of the most precious, intimate moments I have ever witnessed. He was the first real example of a father that I ever met that is like our heavenly Father. What a blessing.

    Like

    • Thank you Mel! Wow, that is one amazing thing that your father-in-law did. I can only imagine how much it must have meant for everyone to spend some time alone with him before God took him home and hear how much he loved them. I only wish that everyone has an opportunity to say their last words to their loved one’s in such an intimate and beautiful way!

      Like

    • It did go well. Praise God! 🙂 Words ARE powerful… both the negative and the positive ones. I hope we always choose to use them carefully with much wisdom because they make a difference in a person’s life more than we will ever know.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Reblogged this on officialfantasy and commented:
    Thank you to all of you Who take time out to check my blog when you can, more so those Who even thought it deem to follow/subscribe… and for the sweets that take time to comment!! I love you all and appreciate you! 😁😘☺

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wonderful post, and so true. Whenever I stay at home while my mom runs errands, I always make sure to hug her and tell her how much I love her before she leaves, and I wave (like a maniac!) from the front window as she drives away. And sometimes I call her, minutes after she leaves, just to tell her I love her again. I just think, what if she got in an accident? Looking back, what would I wanted to have done before she left? And I also want to give her a reason to smile and maybe look forward to what might otherwise be a mundane chore. I also like to leave little notes and drawings in her laptop. It’s just ways that make us both smile. 🙂
    I’m so glad your mom is doing well. Praise God! And yes, in case you ever doubt it (and who among us doesn’t?), you have an amazing, Spirit-filled ministry here that has blessed me more times than I can count; thank you for that, and God bless!! ❤

    Like

    • Wow. That’s so sweet of you to never forget to hug your mom and tell her you love her before she goes anywhere. I’m sure she absolutely cherishes your words of appreciation! (I know I would!!) I feel like it seems to happen less and less these days and it’s so good to know that there are people out there who really take to heart the understanding that life is short and we must love those around us the best that we can every day (like you!) May you continue to always shower your mom with your love daily because I’m sure it means more to her than you can imagine. And thank you for your kind words! You are such a blessing on here with your blog and I’m so glad God is already using your talents and your voice to spread His message of truth and hope at such a young age. I know this is just the beginning for you and can’t wait to see what more He will do in and through you in the years to come. May you always continue to serve Him faithfully! Be blessed!♥

      Liked by 1 person

  5. This is all so true. Good advice Anna. I’ve also wondered why we don’t share our love and express our feelings to others until it’s too late. Why we wait for the blast of a bomb or a cancer diagnosis? We should be doing it every single day.

    I lost one of my closest friends last year in a tragic car accident. I still have deep regrets that our last words to each other were: “Let’s do lunch one day soon.” We had been saying that to each other for years! We never did have that lunch. And now we never will. I am one of those who stand over her grave now with deep regrets and lots of tears.

    Liked by 2 people

    • oops….. didn’t intend to “llike” my own comment. Was trying to click on the perosn who did like it and get to their blog and somehow that happened. Couldn’t get if off…. oh well! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Gail, wow, what a sad (but good example for all of us) of how we must cherish the people we love in our lives because we never know when we’ll lose them. We should put more effort into loving people every day because sadly, the only thing that’s certain in life is that it doesn’t last forever (at least not here on earth) and we need to make it count most while we still can. Thank you so much for sharing your story. It’s a good thing that we know that in this life we never have to really say good-bye to anyone because we will one day see them again on the other side. 🙂 Have a blessed day!

      Like

Leave a Reply

