Making the most of today

season, don't waste your season, life seasons, seasons with God, embrace your season Sometimes I think we live in such a hurry to start a new season in our life that we make the mistake of missing out on the one we find ourselves in right now.

We enter into fall and already start dreaming of Christmas and snow.

We begin spring and start wondering what we’re going to do in the summer.

And in the process we forget to embrace the season we are in today.

The same is true for life seasons.

We can’t wait to finish college so we can finally make it big in our field of work.

We can’t wait to get married so we can finally start a family of our own.

We can’t wait for our children to move out of the house so we can finally have some time to ourselves.

And by wishing away our seasons by dreaming of the next one to come we end up wasting the one right in front of us.

In Ecclesiastes Solomon says there is a season for every activity under heaven and that’s true.

What season do you find yourself in today?

Are you wasting it or are you living it wholeheartedly for God?

Read more about how you can use this season of your life wisely in my post on The Identity Project.

I hope it will encourage you to stop waiting for your tomorrows to come and embrace the precious season you are in today.

Also, I want to let you all know that I am heading out to a prayer retreat tomorrow morning and I would LOVE to pray for any needs that you might have while I’m there. If you are going through a storm, waiting for doors to open, praying for healing, or simply heartbroken and discouraged about the place you find yourself in today please know that you are not alone and I am always here to intercede for you and lift you up in prayer. You can e-mail me personally or comment below. You should never fight your battles alone and I will be more than happy to join you in yours by praying for you in any way that I can. Be blessed! -Anna… ♥

Blog Post Link: Don’t Waste Your Season

Related Posts:

its-only-for-a-seasonseason-fall

19 thoughts on “Making the most of today

  1. “I believe in God – not in a Catholic God; there is no Catholic God. There is God, and I believe in Jesus Christ, his incarnation. Jesus is my teacher and my pastor, but God, the Father, Abba, is the light and the Creator. This is my Being.” -Pope Francis. May God Bless your work Anna! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I liked your post about Vision. (I couldn’t comment on it however) When I was younger (many moons ago) I worked at a Bible camp and there was a big push there for the staff to find your vision. They were of course hoping my vision was working at the camp full time. I considered that, since I was recently widowed and had a young son and was rather adrift. There might have been a general push in that direction, to find your vision, which seems to be the trend now. Maybe there always is a push for people to seek a vision. Now I hear it phrased more as your passion. Anyway I prayed long and hard about it, since I did consider full time ministry at that time. What God showed me through His word and the wilderness was that He is my vision. Just like you said He is my vision and He will guide me down the paths He wants me to go. He is my passion. I keep my eyes on Him, He takes care of my life. I still believe that. So enjoyed the post and this one too. Thanks!

    Like

    • Wow. That is such a profound realization Wendy. Sometimes I still try to figure out what my “vision” is when it comes to life and ministry and I think your said it perfectly, God should be our vision and as long as He is the rest will fall into place, where He wants us to serve and what He wants us to do with every day that He grants us. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on here. I needed to be reminded of on Who I need to center my life around. Be blessed!

      Like

  3. With little kids in the house sometimes it’s easy to wish for a season when they could be independent. Thanks for this great reminder to embrace the season. After all those seasons pass faster than we realize!

    Please pray for our family, next week we are driving to Budapest Hungary for a conference. Pray for travel mercies. Thank you!

    Like

    • Yes, seasons do go a lot quicker then we think they will (not just seasons, but life itself!) We need to embrace them before they are gone.

      I will pray for God to protect you and your family as you travel next week and that you will enjoy your time at the conference. Have a blessed weekend!

      Like

  4. Thank you for this wonderful post I could definitely relate and it’s one of my favorite verse(: enjoy your retreat and I would like for you to have in prayer a really good friend of mine, his going through some struggles academically and we’ve been praying for him, to God reveal himself in what His trying to mold him up to (:

    Like

    • Hi Tanya! I will make sure to pray for your friend that God will send the right people his way to help him succeed academically and that he will trust God in the process. Have a blessed weekend!

      Like

  5. It’s so funny that you posted this today, because all day the Holy Spirit kept putting on my heart to embrace the little moments, that may seem insignificant or not pleasurable. Even these simplicities, matter to God. Thanks for that great reminder:)

    In regards to your prayer retreat tomorrow, please pray that my joy is made complete…I’m still struggling with the concept of believing His love and forgiveness for me, but in those times of doubt and regret, please pray that He will make himself known to me…

    Thank you for everything!

    Like

    • Hi Grace! Yes, it’s important to embrace all the moments in our lives, no matter how small because one day all they will be is a memory of what used to be. I will pray for you and that God will reveal Himself even more clearly every day as you Heavenly Father who loves you unconditionally and will always take care of you so you never have to doubt His promises and plans for your life. I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

      Like

  6. Reminds me of what John Lennon said in a song, “Life is what happens when you’re busy making other plans.” So true. Good reminder to us to enjoy and live in the moment. May you get filled up with the fullness of God on your prayer retreat! 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you Mel. That’s one of my favorite quotes! It really puts into perspective how easy it can be for all of us (especially planners) to miss the moments right in front of us. I hope you have a blessed weekend as well!

      Like

  7. What season am I in now??? Mmmmm……it’s hard to give a definite answer for that. God is definitely challenging me to trust Him more and more and to leave behind those things that are weighting me down in my walk with Him. It is time to get very serious with Him and it is time to take a more definite stand against the enemy! That is a bit of where I am right now.

    Enjoy your prayer retreat Anna! 😃

    Rolain

    Like

    • Thanks Rolain! I sure will. Some seasons aren’t so easy to define or understand as others but regardless of which one you find yourself in all that matters is that you walk through it every day with Jesus and He will help you make the most of it. 🙂 I hope you have a blessed weekend as well!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Wow, I was thinking about this just this morning. I tend to live in the future, focusing on things that might happen, or might never happen, instead of living in the moment with God. I even posted about it today. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  9. When I saw the title of this posting, my response was “Really, God?!” Just ten minutes prior I was praying/journaling about the season I am currently in. It was like God said “I hear you, and here is my response.” It reminded me that He hears me (even though it wasn’t quite the answer I wanted 😊)

    Thank you for your words and for being sensitive to the Holy Spirit for what He prompts to write. He has certainly used you to speak directly to me this afternoon.

    Lia

    Like

    • Hi Lia! That’s so awesome!!! I don’t know how many times I have wanted to post on a totally different topic and God says “nope, today it’s going to be this one” and I have no idea why, but now I do, it’s because you needed to read it (at least in this case) 😉 I’m so glad God speaks to us at just the right time (even when it’s things we don’t necessarily want to hear). I wish you the best of blessings during this season of your life and that you will serve God wholeheartedly in it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

